u22 dev camp generic 640

Roster announced for Canada's National Women's Development Team selection camp

July 11, 2014

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced Monday the 42 players who have been invited to Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp, taking place Aug. 8-17 at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

From the selection camp, Hockey Canada will choose 22 players for a three-game series against the United States’ Women’s Under-22 Select Team, scheduled for Aug. 21-24 in Calgary, Alta.

The roster will be selected by Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of national women’s team programs, along with head coach Dwayne Gylywoychuk and assistant coaches Amanda Benoit-Wark and Cara Morey.

The selection camp roster includes six goalies, 12 defencemen and 24 forwards. Invitations are based on evaluations by Hockey Canada scouts during the 2013-14 season, including past performances within Canada’s National Women’s Program, with their club and school teams, and at provincial and national championships with Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), as well as fitness testing conducted at Canada’s National Women’s Development Team conditioning camp held in Toronto, Ont., in May.

The 42 players attending Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp will be split into two teams, which will participate in several practices and intrasquad games, as well as off-ice dryland training, fitness testing and high performance classroom sessions.

Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp roster features:

  • eight players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18-Team at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship in Budapest, Hungary (Bach, Heffernan, Labelle, Lalancette, Leslie, Picard, Stacey, Wildfang );
  • six players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-22/Development Team at the 2013 Meco Cup in Füssen, Germany (Ambrose, Cudmore, Kohler, Lefort, Poudrier, Stacey);
  • 10 players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship in Heinola and Vierumäki, Finland (Brykaliuk, Bunton, Capizzano, Clark, Daoust, Dubois, Heffernan, Krzyzaniak, Newell, Nurse).

Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp invitees, by province:

Ontario – 17 (Ambrose, Bach, Binnington, Bunton, Capizzano, Channell, Cudmore, Doyle, Fast, Fulton, Kohler, Leslie, Leveille, Nurse, Stacey, Warren, Wildfang)
Quebec – 11 (Cormier, Daoust, Desbiens, Dubois, Frazer, Labelle, Lalancette, Lefort, Leonoff, Picard, Poudrier)
Alberta – four (Fouracres, Heffernan, Maschmeyer, Sutherland)
Manitoba – four (Brykaliuk, Dufault, Krzyzaniak, Woods)
Saskatchewan – two (Campbell, Clark)
Nova Scotia – two (Turnbull, Wong)
British Columbia – one (Newell)
Prince Edward Island – one (MacAulay)

Following the series, Hockey Canada scouts, along with the team’s coaching staff, will continue to evaluate players with their club teams during the 2014-15 season, in preparation for selecting the Canadian team that will compete at the 2015 Meco Cup in Germany next January.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Francis Dupont, Hockey Canada’s manager of communications, will be on site in Calgary for Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp. Please contact him for any interview requests at (587) 999-5681 or [email protected].

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Women’s Development Team, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_women.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Recent News
Most Popular
2021-22 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 1
Clark scored twice to give Canada the win in the Rivalry opener.
2021 WGIHW: Canadians celebrate women’s hockey
See how Canadians celebrated World Girls' Ice Hockey Weekend in 2021.
2021-22 NPT: WHT 3 – RED 2 SO (Intrasquad)
Dolan scored in the shootout to lead White to the victory.
2021-22 NPT: RED 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
McGregor scored two and set up two to lead Red to the victory.