nov 13 onr qc

Ontario Red three-peats at National Women’s Under-18 Championship

Ontario Red captures 10th title in 11 tournaments with win in Regina

November 13, 2016

REGINA, Sask. – For the 10th time in 11 tournaments, Ontario Red was crowned champion as it hoisted the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship trophy following a 4-1 win over Quebec on Sunday night at Evraz Place in Regina.

It was the seventh time in tournament history Ontario Red and Quebec met in the gold medal game, with Quebec facing heartbreak once again. While Ontario Red three-peated and won for a 10th time, it’s now seven silver medals for Quebec (2001, Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2016).

Ontario Red opened the scoring on a goal from Sarah Fillier (Georgetown, Ont./Oakville, PWHL) to take a one-goal lead after the first period.

The game remained 1-0 until the dying moments of the second when Avery Mitchell (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, PWHL) and Camryn Tait (Stouffville, Ont./Toronto PWHL) scored power-play goals just 23 seconds apart to put Ontario Red up three after 40 minutes.

Ontario Red held a 4-0 lead before Joannie Garand (Otterburn Park, Que./Nord, LHFDQ) scored for Quebec to avoid the shutout.

In the bronze medal game, B.C., whose only medal, a bronze, came in January 2005, jumped out to the early lead over Ontario Blue on a goal from Alex Allan (Abbotsford, B.C./Pacific, JWHL) just 1:39 into the game. The teams traded goals in a span of less than two minutes, with B.C. holding a 2-1 lead after the opening period.

The teams again traded goals less than a minute apart in the second period when Allison Borrow (Clearwater, B.C./Okanagan Hockey Academy, CSSHL) made it 3-1 before Allexan Templeman (Staffa, Ont./Waterloo, PWHL) cut the deficit back down to one. B.C. added two more in the third and won 5-3 despite a late goal from Savannah Bouzide (Amherstburg, Ont.,/Southwest, PWHL).

Award winners for the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship were announced following Sunday’s gold medal game. The tournament awards committee named the five award winners based on play throughout the championship.

2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship award winners:

Most Valuable Player: Amy Potomak (Aldergrove, B.C./Pacific, JWHL)
Top Defenceman: Olivia Knowles (Campbell River, B.C./Okanagan Hockey Academy, CSSHL)
Top Forward: Emma Maltais (Burlington, Ont.,/Oakville, PWHL)
Top Goaltender: Danika Ranger (Astorville, Ont./Durham West, PWHL)
Most Sportsmanlike Player: Brette Pettet (Kentville, N.S./Shattuck-St. Mary’s, USHS)

The 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship brought together teams made up of the best female hockey players born in 1999 or later. The tournament served as an important platform for Hockey Canada scouts, who evaluated candidates for the Canadian contingent that will compete at the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship in the Czech Republic in January.

A number of Canadian women’s hockey stars have competed at the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, including Saskatchewan natives and Team Canada alumnae Emily Clark, Jessica Campbell, and Colleen Sostorics, as well as 20 players who helped Canada’s National Women’s Team win a silver medal at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Kamloops, B.C.:

  • Meghan Agosta (Jan. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Bailey Bram (2007 – Manitoba)
  • Emily Clark (2011, 2012 – Saskatchewan)
  • Sarah Davis (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)
  • Laura Fortino (2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)
  • Erica Howe (2009 – Ontario Red)
  • Brianne Jenner (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Blue; 2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)
  • Rebecca Johnston (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Halli Krzyzaniak (2011, 2012 – Manitoba)
  • Brigette Lacquette (2008 – Manitoba)
  • Jocelyne Larocque (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Manitoba)
  • Emerance Maschmeyer (2011 – Alberta)
  • Marie-Philip Poulin (Nov. 2005, 2007, 2008 – Quebec)
  • Jamie Lee Rattray (2007 – Ontario Blue; 2008, 2009 – Ontario Red)
  • Lauriane Rougeau (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Quebec)
  • Jillian Saulnier (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)
  • Natalie Spooner (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Ontario Red)
  • Blayre Turnbull (2009 – Atlantic)
  • Jennifer Wakefield (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Tara Watchorn (2007 – Ontario Red)

For more information on the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, please visit and follow along via social media at Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]a


2021 MWC: CAN 3 – FIN 2 OT (Gold Medal)
Paul was the overtime hero to give Canada the gold medal in Riga.
2021 MWC: CAN 4 – USA 2 (Semifinal)
Mangiapane scored twice to send Canada into the gold medal game.
2021 MWC: CAN 2 – ROC 1 OT (Quarterfinal)
Stecher set up Mangiapane for the OT winner to earn a semifinal spot.
2021 MWC: FIN 3 – CAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Pirri and Comtois scored, but Canada fell to the Finns in a shootout.