2022 officials scholarship announcement

Studious stripes celebrated

Six Canadian officials have been recognized for their academic and athletic achievements as recipients of the Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship

Jason La Rose
July 6, 2022

Hockey Canada has unveiled the six recipients of the Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship for the 2021-22 season. The scholarships are awarded annually to members of the Hockey Canada Officiating Program to help offset the cost of post-secondary education, supporting their efforts to reach their university or college goals, and to reward their interest in mentoring the next generation of officials.

This year’s recipients include:

• Cynthia Côté – University of Manitoba (Hockey Manitoba)

• Gabrielle Gracey – University of Ottawa (Hockey Eastern Ontario)

• Mitchell Hardy – Conestoga College (Ontario Hockey Federation)

• Ashley Lajeunesse – Algonquin College (Hockey Eastern Ontario)

• Anthony Lapointe – McGill University (Hockey Québec)

• Connor McCracken – University of the Fraser Valley (BC Hockey)

The Kenneth R. Stiles Memorial Scholarship was established by the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation (formerly Project 75) and Hockey Canada in 2006 in recognition of Ken Stiles, a former president of Project 75, and his tremendous contributions to grassroots hockey in Canada. Stiles was a catalyst in planning and designing an initiative aimed at players and officials who demonstrate excellence in sport and commitment to education.

Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, officiating achievement and community involvement. Over the first 14 years, the program has awarded more than $296,000 to officials across the country.

Since the mid-1980s, the Seaman Hotchkiss Hockey Foundation, an oil and gas legacy from the original Flames ownership group, has contributed more than $7.15 million to minor hockey development initiatives in Canada as well as other charities in Alberta.

For more information on the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, visit HockeyCanada.ca or contact your Member .

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

2023 NWU18T USA Series: CAN 5 – USA 2 (Game 3)
Kraemer tallies four points to lead Canada over the United States.
2023 NWDT vs. the U.S Series : USA 4 – CAN 3 (Game 3)
Palumbo, Amos, and Iginla scored but Canada lose the finale.
2023 NWDT vs. the U.S Series : USA 4 – CAN 3 (Game 2)
Labad, Wozniewicz and Newhook scored but Canada drop Game 2.
2023 NWU18T USA Series: CAN 6 – USA 1 (Game 2)
Canada earns second win vs. U.S.