Canada's Men's Olympic Team nominated to Canadian Olympic Committee for 2014 Olympic Winter Games
January 7, 2014

TORONTO, Ont. – Hockey Canada, along with executive director Steve Yzerman (Nepean, Ont./Tampa Bay, NHL) and the members of Canada’s National Men’s Team management group, announced Tuesday the 25-player roster nominated to the Canadian Olympic Committee to represent Canada at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, which take place Feb. 7-23 in Sochi, Russia.

Canada’s National Men’s Team management group is comprised of Yzerman, Hockey Canada president and CEO Bob Nicholson, Hockey Canada vice-president of hockey operations and national teams Brad Pascall, Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Peter Chiarelli (Ottawa, Ont./Boston, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL) and Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL).

The roster nominated for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games includes three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 14 forwards:

Goaltenders (3): Roberto Luongo Montreal, Que. Vancouver (NHL)

Carey Price Anahim Lake, B.C. Montreal (NHL)

Mike Smith Kingston, Ont. Phoenix (NHL)
Defencemen (8): Jay Bouwmeester Edmonton, Alta. St. Louis (NHL)

Drew Doughty London, Ont. Los Angeles (NHL)

Duncan Keith Penticton, B.C. Chicago (NHL)

Dan Hamhuis Smithers, B.C. Vancouver (NHL)

Alex Pietrangelo King City, Ont. St. Louis (NHL)

P.K. Subban Toronto, Ont. Montreal (NHL)

Marc-Édouard Vlasic Montreal, Que. San Jose (NHL)

Shea Weber Sicamous, B.C. Nashville (NHL)
Forwards (14): Jamie Benn Victoria, B.C. Dallas (NHL)

Patrice Bergeron Sillery, Que. Boston (NHL)

Jeff Carter London, Ont. Los Angeles (NHL)

Sidney Crosby Cole Harbour, N.S. Pittsburgh (NHL)

Matt Duchene Haliburton, Ont. Colorado (NHL)

Ryan Getzlaf Regina, Sask. Anaheim (NHL)

Chris Kunitz Regina, Sask. Pittsburgh (NHL)

Patrick Marleau Aneroid, Sask. San Jose (NHL)

Rick Nash Brampton, Ont. N.Y. Rangers (NHL)

Corey Perry Peterborough, Ont. Anaheim (NHL)

Patrick Sharp Thunder Bay, Ont. Chicago (NHL)

Steven Stamkos Unionville, Ont. Tampa Bay (NHL)

John Tavares Oakville, Ont. N.Y. Islanders (NHL)

Jonathan Toews Winnipeg, Man. Chicago (NHL)

“I would like to congratulate the 25 players nominated today to Canada’s Olympic Team,” said Yzerman. “With the depth of talent in Canada, these players should be very proud of their nomination today and excited about the opportunity that we all have to represent our country in Sochi in February.”

“On behalf of Hockey Canada and its board of directors, I would like to congratulate the players nominated today, as well as all the volunteers, coaches, trainers and officials who helped them get to this level,” said Nicholson. “I would also like to commend Steve and the management group for their work over the past two years and their diligence under great scrutiny from all Canadians. Canadians should be very proud of this group and the work that they have done leading up to this day.”

“There is a tremendous amount of work involved with planning, selecting and preparing a team of this calibre for the Olympic Games. I’d like to thank Hockey Canada for its strong commitment to promoting and preserving our national sport,” added Marcel Aubut, president of the Canadian Olympic Committee. “As Canadians, we have the highest expectations for our hockey teams, on and off the ice, and these great athletes have the potential to be an outstanding team competing for excellence in Sochi.”

The men’s Olympic hockey tournament begins Wednesday, Feb. 12, with Canada’s first game on Thursday, Feb. 13 against Norway. The tournament culminates with the gold medal game on Feb. 23. In the Olympic preliminary round, Canada also faces off against Austria on Friday, Feb. 14 and Finland on Sunday, Feb. 16. All of these games take place at the Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi.

For more information on Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team, please visit, or follow along through social media at,, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.
2018 PARA: CAN 17 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor and Dixon had six points each in a Paralympic-opening win.
2018 OLY: CAN 6 – CZE 4 (Bronze Medal)
Ebbett and Kelly scored two goals each to help Canada win bronze.