2022 telus cup may 19 mon van

2022 TELUS Cup Recap: Thursday, May 19

Thursday at the 2022 TELUS Cup saw the Moncton Flyers secure a semifinal berth, while the Cantonniers de Magog and Notre Dame Hounds were also victorious.

May 19, 2022
|

Moncton Flyers 7, Vancouver NE Chiefs 4

Cantonniers de Magog 5, Mississauga Reps 2

Notre Dame Hounds 4, Sydney Rush 1

 

Next games - Friday, May 20: 

  • Mississauga Reps vs. Vancouver NE Chiefs (1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT)
  • Notre Dame Hounds vs. Cantonniers de Magog (5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT)
  • Sydney Rush vs. Moncton Flyers (8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT)

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games and the semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/TELUSCup.

Quotes: 

“Today was a character win for our group. We were behind 3-0 early but I am proud of how our team responded after we called a timeout to reset. In September, we asked our players to write down their goals for the season, and it was easy for them to say play in the TELUS Cup back then, but to be here and advancing to the semifinals is a great accomplishment for them.”

- Moncton Flyers head coach John DeCourcey on his team clinching a semifinal berth

“It was a big goal for our team, especially being on the penalty kill for four minutes. The most important thing is that we got off to a great start and played the Cantonniers’ style of hockey to win the game. If we continue to play like we have all season, we believe that we can go very deep into the tournament.”

- Maxime Côté (Cantonniers de Magog) on scoring his first goal of the TELUS Cup

“Last night’s win was a big turning point for our team and helped us get back on track. It has been a dream come true to play for this team on this stage, and to win again tonight is huge for our confidence, but we have to stay focused for tomorrow’s game.”

- Joey Rocha (Notre Dame Hounds) on winning his second straight start in net

For more information on the 2022 TELUS Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

Videos
Photos
2022-23 NWT: USA 2 – CAN 1 (Game 2)
Campbell finished with 32 saves, but Canada was edged in Kamloops.
2022-23 NWT: USA 4 – CAN 3 SO (Game 1)
Clark gave Canada a third-period lead, but it dropped a shootout decision.
2022 U17: Day 10 – Saturday, November 12
The U.S. won gold, Canada Red took silver and Finland earned bronze.
2022 U17: Day 9 – Friday, November 11
Canada Black, Canada Red and Canada White all earned wins on Friday.
Schedule