2013 esso cup apr24 queont 640
LHFDQ Nord and North Bay Ice Boltz to face off for gold medal; award winners announced for 2013 Esso Cup
April 26, 2013

BURNABY, B.C. – The stage is set for the gold medal game between the LHFDQ Nord (Québec) and North Bay Ice Boltz (Ontario) at the 2013 Esso Cup, Canada’s National Female Midget Championship, taking place at the Bill Copeland Sports Centre in Burnaby.

Both teams won their semifinals Friday, with the LHFDQ Nord defeating the Regina Rebels (West) 6-3 in the early game and the North Bay Ice Boltz beating the Edmonton Thunder (Pacific) 5-1 in the late game. The wins earn LHFDQ Nord and North Bay berths into Saturday’s gold medal game, which will air live at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET on TSN2, official broadcasters of Hockey Canada.

The two teams faced off in preliminary action Wednesday, with LHFDQ Nord defeating North Bay 3-1. Captain Jade Downie-Landry (St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que.) scored a natural hat trick, scoring all three goals in the third period, en route to the win.

The LHFDQ Nord finished the preliminary round with three wins and two losses, while North Bay capped off the week with two wins, one shootout win, one shootout loss and one loss. Neither team has competed in the Esso Cup before, let alone advanced to the gold medal game.
Award winners for the 2013 Esso Cup were announced Friday morning at a breakfast banquet for the six participating teams. The tournament’s awards committee named six recipients, with the awards based on the preliminary round games played from Sunday, April 21 through Thursday, April 25.

The 2013 Esso Cup award winners are as follows:
Top Goaltender – Sabrina Picard, North Bay Ice Boltz (Ontario)
Top Defenceman – Corie Jacobson, North Bay Ice Boltz (Ontario)
Top Forward – Jade Downie-Landry, LHFDQ Nord (Québec)
Most Valuable Player – Mikaeli Cavell, Edmonton Thunder (Pacific)
Most Sportsmanlike Player – Jodie Gentile, Fraser Valley Phantom (Host)
Top Scorer – Valérie Audet, LHFDQ Nord (Québec)

The Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Award, which recognizes an active female player who demonstrates dedication and leadership in the game and whose characteristics reflect those of the award’s namesake, was also presented Friday morning to Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL), who has won three Olympic gold medals and six world championships with Canada’s National Women’s Team.
Bronze and gold medal game tickets are still available for $15 each by stopping by the Bill Copeland Sports Centre in Burnaby. The bronze medal game is set for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET, and can be watched live and free through FASTHockey, by following three easy steps:

STEP 1: Visit hockeycanada.fasthockey.com and sign up for a free FASTHockey account.
STEP 2: Like the Esso Cup on Facebook at www.facebook.com/essocup.
STEP 3: Just before the game you want to watch, click the Esso Cup LIVE link on the Esso Cup Facebook page and enjoy!

The 2013 Esso Cup is in partnership with BC Hockey, the Burnaby Minor Hockey Association and Tourism Burnaby, with the Fraser Valley Phantom welcoming the top five provincial and regional teams from across the country. This marks the fifth annual National Female Midget Championship, with the Westman Wildcats (West) winning the inaugural event in Calgary, Alta., in 2009, the Thunder Bay Queens (Ontario) winning in 2010 in Regina, Sask., the Notre Dame Hounds (West) claiming gold in 2011 in St. Albert, Alta., and the Pembina Valley Hawks (West) winning in 2012 in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

MEDIA NOTE: For 2013 Esso Cup interview requests, please contact Hockey Canada communications coordinator Kristen Lipscombe at (403) 826-4819 or [email protected].

For more information on the 2013 Esso Cup, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca/essocup, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/essocup and www.twitter.com/hc_essocup.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-284-6427
Mobile: 403-612-2893
[email protected]


2019-20 NWT - USA 3 - CAN 1 (Game 4)
Larocque scored, but Canada dropped the final Canadian stop.
2019-20 NWT - CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Game 3)
Bach was the extra-time hero to get Canada its first victory.
NWT: Meeting and greeting in Victoria
Atom players from the CRFMHA got the chance to visit with Team Canada.
2020 WJC: CAN 4 – RUS 3 (Gold Medal)
Thomas got the GWG with 3:58 left and Canada came back to win gold.