2022  h g c  c a n  f i n  j u l y 29  h g c main

Hlinka Gretzky Cup Recap: Canada 6, Finland 0

Cataford and Howe had a goal and an assist each and Bjarnason and Ratzlaff combined for 25 saves to blank Finland in pre-tournament action

July 29, 2022
|

Today’s games – Friday, July 29 (Pre-Tournament):

Canada 6, Finland 0 – Peavey Mart Centrium
United States 8, Slovakia 0 – Peavey Mart Centrium
Czechia 4, Sweden 2 – Peavey Mart Centrium
Switzerland 4, Germany 2 – Penhold Multiplex

All game stats can be found here.

Next games – Sunday, July 31:

  • Czechia faces Finland at 11 a.m. MT/1 p.m. ET
  • United States meets Germany at 3 p.m. MT/5 p.m. ET
  • Defending champion Canada opens against Switzerland at 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada will broadcast 13 of the tournament’s games from Peavy Mart Centrium beginning July 31; please check local listings for details.

Quotes:

“I felt a lot of energy from our guys tonight. We took too many penalties and that is something we will work on. Our goalies did a great job and our guys came in with the right mindset, ready to play and that made all the difference.”

- Stéphane Julien, head coach for Team Canada, on the win vs. Finland.

“It felt good tonight to pick up the win. The boys were going, and our goalies were fantastic. Top to bottom I liked our effort. We have a few things to clean up before Sunday, but I like where we are at as a group.”

- Kalan Lind, forward for Team Canada, on building from the pre-tournament game.

For more information on the 2022 Hlinka Gretzky Cup, please visit HlinkaGretzkyCup.ca, or follow through social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
2022 WJC: CAN 4 – SWE 3 (Pre-Tournament)
Gaucher and MacTavish scored 0:34 apart early, and Canada held on.
2022 HGC: CZE 3 – USA 1 (Preliminary)
Šprynar scored game winner as Czechia earned a semifinal spot.
2022 HGC: SVK 3 – SUI 2 (Preliminary) OT
Cedzo scores pair in overtime win over Switzerland
2022 HGC: CAN 3 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
Ratzlaff earned his second shutout to help Canada top pool A.
Schedule