First group of players named to Canada's National Men's Team for 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship
April 17, 2014

CALGARY, Alta. – Rob Blake, general manager of Canada’s National Men’s Team, announced Thursday, in collaboration with Hockey Canada, a first group of 20 players for the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, which will be held May 9-25, 2014 in Minsk, Belarus.  

Blake is working with a management group comprised of Ron Hextall (Brandon, Man./Philadelphia, NHL), Brad Treliving (Penticton, B.C./Phoenix, NHL) and Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, B.C.). The management group has been monitoring the final weeks of the NHL regular season, and scouting players that are available to represent Canada at the world championship. 

“We are excited about the first group of players that have committed to representing Canada at the world championship,” said Blake. “We have a good mix of experience and youth at both the professional and international level.”

Fifteen of the 20 players named by Hockey Canada have previous international experience, with five players (Burrows, Chimera, Methot, Myers, Reimer) who represented Canada at previous IIHF World Championships. Chimera won gold at the 2007 IIHF World Championship in Moscow, Russia. (NOTE: Turris also skated as an alternate player with Canada at the 2008 IIHF World Championship). Kevin Bieksa, Troy Brouwer, Jason Garrison, Ben Scrivens and Joel Ward will be representing Canada on the international stage for the first time.  

Over the past week, Blake has confirmed the following 20 players:

James Reimer               Morweena, Man.           Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Ben Scrivens                Spruce Grove, Alta.       Edmonton Oilers (NHL)

Kevin Bieksa                 Elmira, Ont.                  Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Ryan Ellis                      Freelton, Ont.                Nashville Predators (NHL)
Jason Garrison               White Rock, B.C.         Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Erik Gudbranson           Ottawa, Ont.                 Florida Panthers (NHL)
Marc Methot                  Ottawa, Ont.                 Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Tyler Myers                   Calgary, Alta.               Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Morgan Rielly               West Vancouver, B.C.  Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)

Troy Brouwer                Vancouver, B.C.           Washington Capitals (NHL)
Alexandre Burrows        Pincourt, Que.               Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Jason Chimera                Edmonton, Alta.            Washington Capitals (NHL)
Cody Hodgson               Markham, Ont.              Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Jonathan Huberdeau       St-Jérôme, Que.             Florida Panthers (NHL)
Nazem Kadri                  London, Ont.                 Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Sean Monahan               Brampton, Ont.              Calgary Flames (NHL)
David Perron                 Sherbrooke, Que.           Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Mark Scheifele              Kitchener, Ont.               Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Kyle Turris                    New Westminster, B.C. Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Joel Ward                      North York, Ont.           Washington Capitals (NHL)

Canada can add players, including players eliminated during the Stanley Cup playoffs, but can only register 25 players, including three goaltenders, on its official roster. 

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team and the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.