Canada’s National Men’s Team to face Sweden in quarter-finals at 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship
May 15, 2013

STOCKHOLM, Sweden – Canada’s National Men’s Team will play Sweden in the quarter-finals at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship on Thursday, May 16. The winner of the Canada/Sweden quarter-final will face the winner of the Finland/Slovakia quarter-final in the semifinals on Saturday, May 18 (10:15 a.m. ET/7:15 a.m. PT) in Stockholm.

Canada had a record of four wins, one overtime win and one overtime loss record in the preliminary round, good for 18 points, which ranked second in its group. Sweden finished third with 15 points (five wins, two losses). All of Canada’s games at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship are broadcast live by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for the broadcast time in your area.


1 p.m. local/ 6 a.m. ET                    QF1      Russia (H2) vs. United States (H3)                    Helsinki, Finland

2:45 p.m. local/ 10:45 a.m. ET        QF2      Switzerland (S1) vs. Czech Republic (S4)          Stockholm, Sweden

6:30 p.m. local/ 11:30 a.m. ET        QF3      Finland (H1) vs. Slovakia (H4)                          Helsinki, Finland

8:15 p.m. local/ 2:15 p.m. ET          QF4      Canada (S2) vs. Sweden (S3)                           Stockholm, Sweden
Hockey Canada, along with Canada’s National Men’s Team executive director Steve Yzerman, also announced that it has added a 25th and final player to its roster. Yzerman announced the addition of forward Jaden Schwartz (Wilcox, Sask./St. Louis, NHL), as an alternate forward. Schwartz was Canada’s captain at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship, and just completed his rookie campaign with the Blues.

Canada now has 25 players on its roster, including three goaltenders nine defencemen and 13 forwards.   

Hockey Canada’s National Men’s Team management group is comprised of Yzerman (Nepean, Ont./Tampa Bay, NHL), along with Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL), Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL), Bob Nicholson (Penticton, B.C./Hockey Canada) and Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, B.C./Hockey Canada). Peter Chiarelli (Ottawa, Ont./Boston, NHL) is serving in an advisory capacity.

The management group is overseeing all operations for Canada’s National Men’s Team at the world championship, including staff selection, player identification and selection as well as team operations. Hockey Canada’s senior director of national teams and hockey operations, Scott Salmond, oversees team logistics, working closely with the management group.

Head coach Lindy Ruff (Warburg, Alta.) leads the coaching staff, along with assistant coaches Doug Shedden (Wallaceburg, Ont./EV Zug, SUI), Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./Phoenix, NHL) and Barry Trotz (Dauphin, Man./Nashville, NHL). 

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Men’s Team, please visit, or follow along via social media at,  and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: CAN 4 – FLA 1 (Icebreaker)
Saulnier got the GWG to lead Canada to its first Icebreaker victory.
2017-18 NWT: NOR 4 – CAN 2 (Icebreaker)
Daoust and Spooner scored, but Canada dropped its tournament opener.
2017-18 NST: WHT 3 – RED 2 (Intrasquad)
Delaney scored a pair of special-teams goals to help White edge Red.
2017-18 NST: WHT 2 – KOR 0 (Exhibition)
White blanks Korea at sledge camp