mwc trophy

MEDIA ADVISORY - Canada adds to 2018 IIHF World Championship roster

Kyle Turris joins Team Canada

May 13, 2018

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced the addition of Kyle Turris (New Westminster, B.C./Nashville) for the 2018 IIHF World Championship in Copenhagen and Herning, Denmark.

With the addition of Turris, Canada’s roster now stands at 25 players: three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 14 forwards.

Turris just finished his 10th season in the NHL, appearing in 76 games with Ottawa and Nashville. He registered 51 points, including 35 assists, and added three more assists in 13 playoff games with the Predators. This will mark his second appearance with Canada’s National Men’s Team at the IIHF World Championship, after wearing the red and white in 2014. Turris represented Canada at the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship, winning a gold medal, and helped Canada capture the Canada/Russia Super Series in 2007. His international experience also includes the 2007 IIHF World U18 Championship, and a gold medal with Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team at the 2006 U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup. He competed at the inaugural 2006 World Junior A Challenge, and the 2006 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge.

The player selections are made by the management group for the 2018 IIHF World Championship – co-general managers Sean Burke (Windsor, Ont./Montreal) and Martin Brodeur (Montreal/St. Louis), along with Scott Salmond (Creston, B.C.), vice-president of hockey operations and national teams with Hockey Canada – in consultation with the coaching staff consisting of head coach Bill Peters (Three Hills, Alta./Calgary), associate coach Mike Yeo (North Bay, Ont./St. Louis), and assistant coach Bob Boughner (Windsor, Ont./Florida).

Six of the players on the roster earned gold medals with Team Canada in either 2015 (Eberle, Ekblad, O’Reilly, Schenn) or 2016 (McDavid, Murray, O’Reilly), while four skated to a silver medal in 2017 (O’Reilly, Parayko, Schenn, Vlasic).

Through five games, Canada has wins over host Denmark, Norway and South Korea, a loss to Finland and a shootout loss to the United States. Preliminary-round games wrap up May 15 with Canada still to face Latvia and Germany. The bronze- and gold-medal games are set to take place Sunday, May 20.

TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partners will carry 64 and 31 games, respectively. TSN Radio will also broadcast all of Canada’s games; check your local listings for schedule and network details.

Team Canada has won gold at two of the last three IIHF World Championships, going undefeated during the 2015 tournament in the Czech Republic and shutting out Finland in the gold-medal game in 2016 in Russia. Last year, Canada skated to silver after falling to Sweden in the gold-medal game in Cologne, Germany.

Since 1931, Canada has won the world championship 20 times – not counting the years when the Olympic Winter Games gold medallist was also considered world champion. Canada has also collected 12 silver and six bronze medals in that timespan.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team, please visit or follow along on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


NWT: Thank you, Mel Davidson
Take a look back at memories from Mel Davidson’s long and decorated career with Hockey Canada.
GTG: Global Girls’ Game in St. John’s
40 players gathered for hockey, culture and empowerment.
2019-20 NWT - USA 3 - CAN 1 (Game 4)
Larocque scored, but Canada dropped the final Canadian stop.
2019-20 NWT - CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Game 3)
Bach was the extra-time hero to get Canada its first victory.