2017 rbc cup award winners
© Matthew Murnaghan / Hockey Canada Images

Individual honours doled out at 2017 RBC Cup

Cale Makar makes history with back-to-back Most Valuable Player, Top Defenceman awards

May 19, 2017

COBOURG, Ont. – With preliminary-round action concluded and the semifinal match-ups set at the 2017 RBC Cup, it was time to recognize individual player contributions at the annual awards banquet on Friday.

Cale Makar (Calgary/Brooks, AJHL) made event history, walking away with back-to-back MVP and Top Defenceman awards at the 2016 and 2017 RBC Cup. No other player has won either of those awards twice, let alone in consecutive years. Makar also received the nod as the RBC Canadian Junior Hockey League National Player of the Year.

“Anybody in this room could have easily got it; a lot of guys played just as well as I did and were just as big a help to their teams as I was, but at the end of the day, it’s a pretty big honour to receive it,” said Makar of his second MVP award. He credits the players that surround him with helping him achieve these latest honours. “I get put on the ice every day with successful players and guys that want to play hard every day, and compete. They push me to be better, and I push them to be better, I like to think. The competition part just helps make me better every day.”

Spencer Roberts (Stouffville, Ont.) of the host Cobourg Cougars, who posted seven points in four games (four goals, three assists) to lead the tournament in scoring in the round robin, was awarded Top Forward and Top Scorer.

“It’s an honour to win those two awards, but I’ve got to give a lot of credit to my linemates, Theo Lewis and Quinn Syrydiuk; they helped me out a lot,” said Roberts.

The full list of award recipients includes:

  • Roland Mercier Award (MVP): Cale Makar, Brooks Bandits
  • Top Goaltender: Stefano Durante, Cobourg Cougars
  • Tubby Schmalz Award (Most Sportsmanlike Player): Nicholas Jones, Penticton Vees
  • Top Forward: Spencer Roberts, Cobourg Cougars
  • Top Defenceman: Cale Makar, Brooks Bandits
  • Top Scorer: Spencer Roberts
  • RBC CJHL National Player of the Year: Cale Makar, Brooks Bandits

Thanks to the legacy from past RBC Cup events, one graduating player from each participating team was awarded a $500 grant. This year’s recipients are:

  • Nick Prkusic (Medicine Hat, Alta./Brooks, AJHL)
  • Stefano Durante (Brampton, Ont./Cobourg, OJHL)
  • Taylor Sanheim (Elkhorn, Man./Penticton, BCHL)
  • Kevin Laliberté (Bois-des-Filion, Que./Terrebonne, LHJQ)
  • Lucas Brown (Powassan, Ont./Trenton, OJHL)

In addition, Hockey Canada’s premier partner and event title sponsor, RBC, awards a $5,000 national scholarship celebrating academic and on-ice excellence to a deserving player from the CJHL each season. This year’s RBC National Scholarship Award recipient is Owen Grant (Stittsville, Ont./Carleton Place, CCHL), who has committed to attend the University of Vermont on a hockey scholarship next season.

Action resumes Saturday at 2017 RBC Cup

The host Cobourg Cougars finished first in the preliminary-round standings at the 2017 RBC Cup, and will face the Penticton Vees in Saturday’s 2:30 p.m. ET semifinal at the Cobourg Community Centre. The second semifinal, featuring the Brooks Bandits and Cobras de Terrebonne, will follow at 7:30 p.m. ET.

The winner from each semifinal will play for the 2017 RBC Cup on Sunday, May 21, at 5:30 p.m. ET.

The championship game will be broadcast on TSN and RDS, official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Both semifinals will be available via live stream at HockeyCanada.ca/RBCCup.

The RBC Cup is made possible thanks to the partnership between Hockey Canada and the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), and the support of RBC. For more information on the 2017 RBC Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca/RBCCup, or follow along via social media on Facebook or Twitter.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Recent News
Most Popular
2021-22 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 1
Clark scored twice to give Canada the win in the Rivalry opener.
2021 WGIHW: Canadians celebrate women’s hockey
See how Canadians celebrated World Girls' Ice Hockey Weekend in 2021.
2021-22 NPT: WHT 3 – RED 2 SO (Intrasquad)
Dolan scored in the shootout to lead White to the victory.
2021-22 NPT: RED 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
McGregor scored two and set up two to lead Red to the victory.