o o h i c 960x540  a l l

2017 Distinguished Honourees of the Order of Hockey in Canada announced

Scotty Bowman, Murray Costello, Fran Rider to be honoured at Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf in Saskatoon this June

February 8, 2017

SASKATOON, Sask. – Hockey Canada has announced that three legends of the game are being recognized for their outstanding contributions or service to the growth and development of the sport of hockey in Canada as part of the 2017 class of the Order of Hockey in Canada.  

Scotty Bowman (Verdun, Que.), Murray Costello (South Porcupine, Ont.), and Fran Rider (Etobicoke, Ont.) were selected as this year’s Distinguished Honourees, and will be celebrated during the 2017 Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf, June 19 and 20, in Saskatoon.

Scotty Bowman – Presently the senior advisor of hockey operations for the NHL’s Chicago Blackhawks, Bowman has found success as a coach and executive. Highlighting his resume are 14 Stanley Cup championships with four teams, including: Montreal (1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979), Pittsburgh (1991, 1992), Detroit (1997, 1998, 2002, 2008), and Chicago (2010, 2013, 2015); a victory at the 1976 Canada Cup; as well as a Memorial Cup with the Hull-Ottawa Canadiens in 1958. Bowman also holds the NHL record for most wins by a coach – 1,244 regular season games and 223 playoff games. He was also named NHL coach of the year twice, winning the Jack Adams Award in 1976-77 and 1995-96. Bowman was invested as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2012, and inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame in 2003 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1991.

Murray Costello – Serving as an IIHF vice-president from 2008-12, Costello has sat on numerous IIHF committees since 1998, chairing four. As president of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association and Hockey Canada from 1979 to 1998, he directed the merger between the two associations in 1994 and played a key role in the creation of the Program of Excellence and Canada’s National Women’s Team. Dedicating his time to boards and committees, Costello served as a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee and the Order of Hockey in Canada executive committee, and spent 17 years on the Hockey Hall of Fame Board of Directors. He was also an arbitrator for the World Hockey Association Players’ Association. Costello played 163 games in the NHL from 1953-57 with Chicago, Boston, and Detroit. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2005, the IIHF Hall of Fame in 2014, and appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2013.

Fran Rider – Currently the president and CEO of the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association, Rider has been playing an integral role in the development of women’s hockey since 1967 as a player, coach, volunteer, and executive. Involved with Hockey Canada’s Female Council since its inception in 1982, she has chaired six international championship committees and two National Women’s Under-18 Championships. Named the first executive director of the OWHA in 1975, Rider has served as its president and CEO since 1982. Rider also spent four years as a member of the Canadian Women’s Hockey League Board of Directors, and served as chair or volunteer for multiple Ontario provincial championships and events. In 2015, Rider was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada and inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame as the first female builder.

“This year’s class has worked endlessly in their numerous roles as coaches, directors, executives, and committee members to the benefit of others in the game,” said Tom Renney, president and chief executive officer, Hockey Canada. “To be selected as a Distinguished Honouree of the Order of Hockey in Canada is one of the most prestigious accomplishments one can receive in hockey in Canada, and on behalf of my colleagues at Hockey Canada, the Order of Hockey in Canada selection committee, as well as our board members, I would like to congratulate Fran, Scotty, and Murray on their well-deserved recognition.”

Since its inception in 2012, the Order of Hockey in Canada has recognized 21 honourees, including: Jean Béliveau (2012); David Branch (2016); Cassie Campbell-Pascall (2012); Clare Drake (2014); Jim Gregory (2015); Wayne Gretzky (2012); Geraldine Heaney (2016); Paul Henderson (2013); Gordie Howe (2012); Dave King (2013); Mario Lemieux (2016); Mark Messier (2013); Bob Nicholson (2016); Pat Quinn (2015); Gordon Renwick (2012); France St-Louis (2014); Serge Savard (2015); and Steve Yzerman (2014).

A selection committee of 12 members - appointed by the Order of Hockey in Canada executive committee, established by Hockey Canada – is tasked with nominating and selecting, via secret ballot, the annual recipients of the Order of Hockey in Canada. The committee members represent a cross-section of individuals with great and varied experience around the game of hockey in Canada, including members of the media and hockey administration.

Honourees to be celebrated at 2017 Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf

Each year, the Distinguished Honourees of the Order of Hockey in Canada are formally celebrated at the annual Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf – the Foundation’s largest fundraising event.

Last December, Hockey Canada and the Hockey Canada Foundation announced Saskatoon as the host of the 14th annual Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf, June 19-20, 2017. Half of the net proceeds of the event will support legacy programs and projects in Saskatoon and throughout the province. The local steering committee noted it would be announcing the specifics of its legacy plan in the near future.

TCU Place will host the gala portion of the event on June 19, while Willows Golf & Country Club will welcome the event’s golfers on June 20.

All remaining proceeds will go to the Foundation to support the future development and delivery of Hockey Canada programs, projects, and activities across the country.

Visit the Hockey Canada website for more information on the Hockey Canada Foundation and the Order of Hockey in Canada.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

Recent News
Most Popular
2023 Men’s U18 Club Nationals: Day 4 – Thursday, April 27
The Blazers, Blizzard and Gaulois won to stay in the winner’s circle.
2023 Esso Cup: April 26 (Preliminary)
The Rush, Sabres and Rebels secured wins on Day 4 of the 2023 Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup: April 25 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Rush and Étoiles earned points on Tuesday at the Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup April 24 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Selects and Rush notched wins on Monday at the Esso Cup.