Canada repeats as Spengler Cup champions
Red-and-white win back-to-back championships at holiday tournament
December 31, 2016
DAVOS, Switzerland – Canada’s National Men’s Team won its 14th Spengler Cup title by defeating HC Lugano by a score of 5-2 on New Year’s Eve. Canada is behind only tournament-host HC Davos for most championships in the tournament’s 90-year history.

In a rematch of the 2015 Spengler Cup final, it was Cory Emmerton (St. Thomas, Ont./HC Ambri-Piotta, NLA) who scored what would be the game-winning goal 2:59 into the second period. Emmerton also picked up an assist on the goal by Chay Genoway (Morden, Man./Jokerit Helsinki, KHL) to tie the game at one in the first period.

“Our team had its character challenged right in the first game and responded with four solid games in a row. It was a true testament to Canadian hockey,” said head coach Luke Richardson. “We are so proud of this group of players. The Spengler Cup is a special event and a unique experience for anyone who loves the game.”

Nick Spaling (Drayton, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, NLA) led the Canadians in scoring in the final, tallying one goal and two assists. Alternate captain Andrew Ebbett (Vernon, B.C./SC Bern, NLA) earned two points (one goal, one assist) to finish as the tournament-leading scorer with eight points – four goals and four assists. He and captain Maxim Noreau (Montreal/SC Bern, NLA) were named to the Spengler Cup all-star team.

Goaltender Zach Fucale (Rosemère, Que./Brampton, ECHL) stopped 40 shots in the final to bring his tournament-total saves to 113.

“I’m very happy I got to experience such an awesome event in Davos,” said Fucale. “We had a great group of guys that got better and better as the tournament went on. It’s a great honour to wear the Canadian jersey for everyone on this team. This was an amazing experience and a great win for us.”

Canada has appeared in 12 of the last 16 championship games at the Spengler Cup, winning the tournament in 2002, 2003, 2007, 2012, 2015, and 2016. Overall, Canada’s National Men’s Team has won the Spengler Cup 14 times (1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2012, 2015, 2016) since first taking part in 1984.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team and the Spengler Cup, please visit or follow along onFacebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 U17: BLU 6 – RED 1 (Game 1)
Aidan Prueter scored twice and added an assist, Joe Caroll had a goal and two helpers and Blue pulled away in the final 18 minutes to open Canada’s national under-17 development camp with a convincing victory over Red.
2017 U17: WHT 3 – GRN 2 SO (Game 2)
Graeme Clarke scored the lone goal in the shootout, Taylor Gauthier turned away all five shooters he faced, and White erased an early deficit to edge Green in extra time at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 U17: GLD 2 – BLK 1 (Game 3)
Jonathan Lemieux and Ethan Fitzgerald combined for 29 saves and Logan Chisholm scored both goals, helping Gold edge Black 2-1 to finish the first day of games at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey