Moose Jaw, Sask., to host 2014 TELUS Cup
April 26, 2013

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Saskatchewan Hockey Association, announced Friday that Moose Jaw, Sask., will host the 2014 TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship, from April 21-27, 2014.

The host Moose Jaw Generals of the Saskatchewan Midget AAA Hockey League will be joined by five regional champions (Atlantic, Central, Pacific, Quebec and West) to compete for the gold medal at 4,500-seat Mosaic Place, home of the Western Hockey League’s Moose Jaw Warriors.

“We’re thrilled to be able to bring the TELUS Cup to Moose Jaw in 2014,” said Chris Aparicio, co-chair of the 2014 TELUS Cup host committee. “Hockey fans in the city will be in for a treat when the tournament faces off at Mosaic Place next April; some of the greats of the game have played at the national championship, and we’re expecting tremendous hockey one year from now.”

“The hosting of an event like the TELUS Cup in a hockey-mad province like Saskatchewan and a proven event centre like Moose Jaw should be an inspiration for future players and future event hosts,” said Al Hubbs, president of the Saskatchewan Hockey Association.

“Saskatchewan’s Midget hockey history is second to none, and we could not be more excited to be returning to the Prairies for the 2014 TELUS Cup,” said Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “The TELUS Cup is one of our most prestigious national championships, and I’m sure the host committee in Moose Jaw will do a tremendous job on the 41st edition.”

Moose Jaw will be the third Saskatchewan city to host the tournament, joining Regina (1985) and Prince Albert (1999). Saskatchewan teams have won 13 gold medals in the first 39 years of the national championship, more than any other province.

Ticket information for the 2014 TELUS Cup will be announced in the coming months.

A number of future NHLers have taken part in Canada’s National Midget Championship since its inception in 1974, including 53 first-round draft picks, three No. 1 selections (Gord Kluzak, Wendel Clark and Sidney Crosby) and nine future Hockey Hall of Fame inductees (Glenn Anderson, Ron Francis, Mike Gartner, Al MacInnis, Larry Murphy, Patrick Roy, Joe Sakic, Denis Savard and Steve Yzerman).

The 2013 TELUS Cup is currently taking place in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., with the gold medal game scheduled for Sunday, April 28 at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT on TSN/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters. Check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.

For more information on the TELUS Cup, visit, or follow the tournament via social media at and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.