sam reinhart 640
TELUS Cup alumni crack season-opening NHL rosters
Four MVP recipients among 28 players
Jason La Rose
October 17, 2014

When the puck dropped Oct. 8 to open the 2014-15 National Hockey League season, it did so with 28 alumni of the TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship, on the league’s 30 teams.

Twenty-five had spots on a 23-man roster, with another three starting the season on the injured list.

The alumni list included eight who won the national championship: Tyson Strachan (Tisdale, 2002), Jay Beagle (Calgary, 2003), Ryan White (Brandon, 2004), Eric Gryba and Luke Schenn (Saskatoon, 2005), Dustin Tokarski (Prince Albert, 2006), and Slater Koekkoek and Morgan Rielly (Notre Dame, 2010).

Also included were a number of players who earned awards in their appearance:

Most Valuable Player

  • Dany Heatley (1998)
  • Sidney Crosby (2002)
  • Teddy Purcell (2003)
  • Slater Koekkoek (2010)

Top Scorer

  • Daniel Brière (1994)
  • Sidney Crosby (2002)
  • Mark Stone (2008)
  • Sam Reinhart (2011)

Top Forward

  • Daniel Brière (1994)
  • Sam Reinhart (2011)

Top Defenceman

  • Eric Gryba (2005)
  • Slater Koekkoek (2010)

Most Sportsmanlike Player

  • Jordan Eberle (2006)

Sixteen of the NHL’s 30 teams had at least one alumnus on their 23-man roster or on the injured list, led by the Ottawa Senators, who had four, and the Buffalo Sabres, with three.


Jay Beagle – Washington Capitals (Calgary Northstars, 2003) INJURED
Daniel Brière – Colorado Avalanche (Intrépide de Gatineau, 1994)
Alex Chiasson – Ottawa Senators (Blizzard du Séminaire Saint-François, 2007)
Ryane Clowe – New Jersey Devils (St. John’s Maple Leafs, 2000)
Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins (Dartmouth Subways, 2002)
Jonathan Drouin – Tampa Bay Lightning (Lions du Lac St-Louis, 2011)
Anthony Duclair – New York Rangers (Lions du Lac St-Louis, 2011)
Jordan Eberle – Edmonton Oilers (Calgary Buffaloes, 2006)
Matt Fraser – Boston Bruins (Red Deer Rebels, 2007)
Colin Greening – Ottawa Senators (St. John’s Maple Leafs, 2003)
Eric Gryba – Ottawa Senators (Saskatoon Contacts, 2005)
Dany Heatley – Anaheim Ducks (Calgary Buffaloes, 1998) INJURED
Slater Koekkoek – Tampa Bay Lightning (Notre Dame Hounds, 2010)
Kris Letang – Pittsburgh Penguins (Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard, 2003)
Joffrey Lupul – Toronto Maple Leafs (Fort Saskatchewan Rangers, 2000)
Torrey Mitchell – Buffalo Sabres (Riverains du Collège Antoine-Girouard, 2002)
Alex Pietrangelo – St. Louis Blues (Toronto Jr. Canadiens, 2006)
Teddy Purcell – Edmonton Oilers (St. John’s Maple Leafs, 2003)
Sam Reinhart – Buffalo Sabres (Vancouver NW Giants, 2011)
Morgan Rielly – Toronto Maple Leafs (Notre Dame Hounds, 2010)
David Savard – Columbus Blue Jackets (Blizzard du Séminaire Saint-François, 2007)
Luke Schenn – Philadelphia Flyers (Saskatoon Contacts, 2005)
Mark Stone – Ottawa Senators (Winnipeg Thrashers, 2008)
Tyson Strachan – Buffalo Sabres (Tisdale Trojans, 2002)
Brad Stuart – Colorado Avalanche (Red Deer Chiefs, 1996)
Malcolm Subban – Boston Bruins (Mississauga Reps, 2010)
Dustin Tokarski – Montreal Canadiens (Prince Albert Mintos, 2006)
Ryan White – Philadelphia Flyers (Brandon Wheat Kings, 2004) INJURED

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)


2018 WGHW: Celebrating the female game
Canada joined with 41 countries around the world as part of the eighth annual World Girls’ Hockey Weekend
2018 Fall Festival: RED 3 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
Fillier, Johnston and Willoughby scored to help Red win NWT finale.
2018 Fall Festival: WHT 2 – DCC 1 (OT) (Exhibition)
Hannah Miller scored the overtime winner to lead White to victory.
2018 Fall Festival: RED 6 – FSJ 2 (Exhibition)
Johnston scored four goals to lead Red to a second straight victory.