National Junior Team Selection Camp Roster Dec. 11-13, 2012 Calgary, Alberta
December 3, 2012


Returning 2012 National Junior Team players:

6 – Dougie Hamilton, Scott Harrington, Jonathan Huberdeau, Boone Jenner, Mark Scheifele, Ryan Strome

Players who played for Canada in the 2012 Canada-Russia Challenge : 20

G (2) – Laurent Brossoit, Malcolm Subban

D (8) – Mathew Dumba, Dougie Hamilton, Scott Harrington, Ryan Murphy, Xavier Ouellet, Matt Pelech, Griffin Reinhart, Morgan Rielly

F (10) – Phillip Danault, Jonathan Huberdeau, Charles Hudon, Boone Jenner, Sean Monahan, Ty Rattie, Mark Scheifele, Hunter Shinkaruk, Ryan Strome, Tom Wilson

Minor hockey / Hockey Canada branch breakdown:

  • 18 – Ontario Hockey Federation
  • 6 – BC Hockey
  • 5 – Hockey Quebec
  • 4 – Hockey Alberta
  • 2 – Saskatchewan Hockey Association
  • 1 – Hockey Nova Scotia, Ottawa District Hockey Association

Where they are playing:

  • 18 players from the Ontario Hockey League (OHL)
  • 11 players from the Western Hockey League (WHL)
  • 7 players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL)
  • 1 player from the American Hockey League (AHL)

Program of Excellence experience:

  • 29 of the 37 players have been a part of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence
  • 23 of these 29 players have played in Canada’s National Under-18 Program
  • 19 for Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team
  • 12 for Canada at the IIHF World Under-18 Championship

Twenty-three of these 37 players have been involved in Canada's regional under-17 program.

Seven players invited to the selection camp will be looking for their first-ever Program of Excellence experience on a regional or national team – Francis Beauvillier, Jordan Binnington, Anthony Camara, Frankie Corrado, Tyler Graovac, Colton Sissons, Ryan Sproul.

In total, ten players (including the seven listed above), have never played for a national team – JC Lipon, Jake Paterson, Tyler Wotherspoon


Twelve players (Corrado, Danault, Harrington, Huberdeau, Hudon, Jenner, McNeill, Murphy, Ouellet, Reinhart, Shinkaruk, Sissons) are currently captains of their respective teams, and 15 players are alternate captains

Vital statistics:

  • Average age: 19 years, 2 months, 21 days (as of)
  • By year of birth: 1993 (25 players), 1994 (10 players), 1995 (two players)
  • Youngest player: Nathan MacKinnon (9/1/1995)
  • Oldest player: Ryan Sproul (1/13/1993)
  • Average height: 6’1”
  • Average weight: 190 lbs

NHL Entry Draft information:

31 of the 36 players invited to camp have been drafted in either the 20 NHL Entry Drafts;13 of the 30 NHL drafted players were first-round NHL draft picks, eight players were second-round NHL draft picks, and five more were selected in the third round;Five players at Canada’s selection camp are eligible for the 2013 NHL Entry Draft (Drouin, Lipon, MacKinnon, Monahan, Shinkaruk);

    The Boston Bruins, the Detroit Red Wings and the New York Islanders have the most prospects at this year’s camp, with three players. Twenty NHL teams have players at the selection camp:

  • 3 – Boston, Detroit, NY Islanders
  • 2 – Calgary, Chicago, Florida, Minnesota, Pittsburgh, St. Louis
  • 1 – Buffalo, Carolina, Columbus, Dallas, Edmonton, Montreal, Nashville, Toronto, Vancouver, Washington, Winnipeg


  • BOS – Camara, Hamilton, Subban
  • BUF – Catenacci
  • CAR – Murphy
  • CGY – Brossoit, Wotherspoon
  • CHI – Danault, McNeill
  • CBJ – Jenner
  • DAL – Ritchie
  • DET – Ouellet, Paterson, Sproul
  • EDM – Nugent-Hopkins
  • FLA – Beauvillier, Huberdeau
  • MIN – Dumba, Graovac
  • MTL – Hudon
  • NSH - Sissons
  • NYI – Pelech, Reinhart, Strome
  • PIT – Harrington, Pouliot
  • STL – Binnington, Rattie
  • TOR – Rielly
  • VAN – Corrado
  • WAS - Wilson
  • WPG – Scheifele

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
2017 OHC: 2017 recipients honoured at HCF gala
2017 OHC recipients honoured at HCF gala