Canada's National Sledge Team Announced for 2012-13 Season; Season Opens at 2012 World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Calgary
November 19, 2012

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced Monday the 16 players selected to play for Canada’s National Sledge Team. The players will represent Canada at the 2012 World Sledge Hockey Challenge from Dec. 2-8 in Calgary and the 2013 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship in April in Goyang, Korea, as well as other international games and tournaments during the 2012-13 season.

Head coach Mike Mondin (Trail, B.C.) assembled Canada’s National Sledge Team with help from assistant coach Curtis Hunt (Regina, Sask.) and Hockey Canada scouts at the conclusion of a selection camp that ran from Sept. 6-8 at the East Bayfield Community Centre in Barrie, Ont. and a training camp in Trail B.C. held October 21-27 at the Cominco Arena.

“Getting down to 16 players was by no means an easy decision, which is a testament to the sledge hockey talent this country is producing,” Mondin said. “We feel we’ve assembled the best roster possible, and we’re excited to get to work on a new season.”

Fourteen of the players selected for Canada’s National Sledge Team helped Canada win gold at the 2011 World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Calgary and bronze at the 2012 IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship in Hamar, Norway, including goaltenders Benoit St-Amand (St-Hubert, Que.) and Corbin Watson (Kingsville, Ont), defencemen Adam Dixon (Midland, Ont.), James Gemmell (Quesnel, B.C.), Graeme Murray (Gravenhurst, Ont.) and Derek Whitson (Chatham, Ont.), as well as forwards Kieran Block (Edmonton, Alta.), Brad Bowden (Orton, Ont.), Billy Bridges (Summerside, P.E.I.), Marc Dorion (Bourget, Ont.), Anthony Gale (Brampton, Ont.), Dominic Larocque (Quebec City, Que.), Kevin Rempel (Dundas, Ont.) and Greg Westlake (Oakville, Ont.).

One player, forward Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.), will make his National Sledge Team debut this season.

The 2012 World Sledge Hockey Challenge runs from Dec. 2-8 at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, bringing together four of the top sledge hockey nations in the world: Canada, Japan, Norway and the United States.

Full-tournament ticket packages are now on sale for just $40, including six preliminary round games and two semifinals, as well as the bronze medal and gold medal games. For more information on tickets, including how to purchase, CLICK HERE.

For more information on Canada’s National Sledge Team, please visit, or follow along via social media at

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.