Rosters Announced for 2012 National Women's Under-18 Championship
October 17, 2012

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with BC Hockey and the City of Dawson Creek, announced Wednesday the eight provincial and regional rosters for the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, taking place Nov. 7-11 at the EnCana Events Centre in Dawson Creek, B.C.

The rosters include 21 of the 22 players who were members of Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team for a three-game series against the United States in Blaine, Minn., in August, and five players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship in Prerov and Zlin, Czech Republic, in January.

Additionally, of the 23 players named recently to Canada’s National Women’s Team for the 2012 4 Nations Cup in Kerava and Tikkurila, Finland, 15 are alumnae of the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, including 2010 Olympic Winter Games gold medallists Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps, Haley Irwin, Rebecca Johnston, Marie-Philip Poulin and Catherine Ward.

Women’s Team alumna Jennifer Botterill, a three-time Olympic gold medallist and five-time IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship gold medallist, will be the guest speaker at the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship banquet the evening of Tuesday, Nov. 6 at the EnCana Events Centre.

Defending gold medallist Ontario Red will play in Group A, along with Team Atlantic, British Columbia and Saskatchewan, while Group B consists of last year’s silver medallist Quebec, bronze medallist Manitoba, Alberta and Ontario Blue. Alberta and Manitoba face off in the tournament’s opening game Wednesday, Nov. 7 at 10 a.m. MT, while host team British Columbia will take on Saskatchewan in the opening day’s feature game at 7 p.m. MT. The top two teams from each group in the preliminary round will play in semifinals Saturday, Nov. 10, with the bronze medal game set for noon MT and the winners facing off for the gold medal at 4 p.m. MT, both on Sunday, Nov. 11.

All preliminary round games, as well as the semifinals and bronze medal game, will be webcast at, while the gold medal game will be broadcast on TSN/RDS, official broadcasters of Hockey Canada.

This will be the fourth time British Columbia has hosted the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, with Surrey welcoming the event in 2009 and Salmon Arm holding the January 2005 and November 2005 editions of the tournament. Ontario Red has won the gold medal all seven times since the event’s 2001 inception in Trois-Rivières, Que.

The National Women’s Under-18 Championship brings together teams made up of the best female hockey players born in 1995 or later. The tournament serves as an important platform for Hockey Canada scouts, led by head scout of women’s national team programs Melody Davidson, who are evaluating candidates for the Canadian contingent that will compete at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship next January in Vierumäki, Finland, as well as at other international events.

Full event ticket packages for access to all 18 games are available for $99, plus applicable fees, by clicking HERE. Ticket packages to all evening games are available for $45, plus applicable fees, by clicking HERE, while ticket packages to all weekend games are available for $75, plus applicable fees, by clicking HERE. Those interested in volunteering for the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship in Dawson Creek should contact Brenda Suchy at 250-786-0211 or

NOTE TO MEDIA: Please contact Kristen Lipscombe, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of communications, for any National Women’s Under-18 Championship interview requests at (403) 826-4819 or

For more information on the 2012 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, please visit, and follow all the action from Dawson Creek via social media at and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 4 – STA 1 (Preliminary)
The Stars scored four unanswered to keep their perfect record intact.