Niedermayer, Seaman Earn Induction Into Canada's Sports Hall of Fame
April 20, 2012

Scott Niedermayer, the most decorated player in Canadian hockey history, will add yet another accolade to his résumé this fall; the NHL and Team Canada veteran was announced Thursday as part of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2012.

The late Daryl (Doc) Seaman, a longtime supporter of grassroots hockey in Canada, also earned induction, two years after he was enshrined in the Hockey Hall of Fame in the builders’ category.

A native of Cranbrook, B.C., Niedermayer won every major North American championship at least once during his WHL and NHL career, and played 46 games with the Maple Leaf on his chest, recording 16 points (7g, 9a).

It was undoubtedly his final appearance in the red and white of Team Canada that Niedermayer will be best remembered for – he donned the ‘C’ in his home province and helped lead Canada to the gold medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

The Vancouver gold capped off a remarkable international career that saw Niedermayer win an IIHF World Junior Championship gold medal (1990), an IIHF World Championship gold medal (2004), two Olympic gold medals (2002, 2010) and a World Cup of Hockey championship (2004). He is one of just eight Canadians in the IIHF Triple Gold Club (Olympic gold, Worlds gold, Stanley Cup).

As impressive as his international record is, Niedermayer was just as good at the club team level, winning a Memorial Cup with Kamloops in 1992, three Stanley Cups with New Jersey (1995, 2000, 2003) and one with Anaheim (2007).

In addition to his team championships, Niedermayer earned his share of individual accolades:

  • WHL West First All-Star Team (1990-91, 1991-92)
  • CHL Scholastic Player of the Year (1990-91)
  • Memorial Cup MVP (1992)
  • NHL All-Rookie Team (1992-93)
  • NHL Second All-Star Team (1997-98)
  • NHL All-Star Game (1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009)
  • NHL First All-Star Team (2003-04, 2005-06, 2006-07)
  • James Norris Memorial Trophy (2003-04)
  • Conn Smythe Trophy (2007)

A captain in New Jersey and Anaheim, Niedermayer finished his NHL career with 740 points (172g, 568a) in 1,263 games.

Seaman, one of the original owners of the Calgary Flames, was a founding member of Flames Project 75, an oil and gas legacy that has contributed more than $5 million to minor hockey development initiatives in Canada as well as other charities in Alberta. In 2009 the Project 75 Group became officially known as the Seaman Hotchkiss Foundation as it continues to support grassroots initiatives across Canada.

Seaman died in January 2009 at age 86.

Niedermayer and Seaman will be joined by bobsledder Pierre Lueders, speedskater Jeremy Wotherspoon, soccer player Charmaine Hooper, rower Derek Porter, figure skaters Jamie Sale and David Pelletier and builder Marion Lay at the Oct. 18 induction ceremony in Calgary.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – MON 0 (Preliminary)
Fancy posted a 24-save shutout to backstop the Hurricanes to the win.