Seventy-Six World Under-17 Hockey Challenge Alumni Selected at 2011 Nhl Entry Draft
July 26, 2011

Another year, another first overall NHL pick with ties to the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge. When the Edmonton Oilers made Ryan Nugent-Hopkins the top selection in this year’s draft, he became the ninth No. 1 in the last 11 years to have taken the ice at the holiday tournament.

Nugent-Hopkins, who played for Team Pacific at the 2010 U17 event in Timmins, Ont., follows Ilya Kovalchuk (2001), Rick Nash (2002), Marc-André Fleury (2003), Alexander Ovechkin (2004), Erik Johnson (2006), Patrick Kane (2007), John Tavares (2009) and Taylor Hall (2010) as U17 alumni to go in the top spot since the turn of the millenium.

The only two first picks not to appear on the list – Sidney Crosby in 2005 and Steven Stamkos in 2008 – both played for their provincial under-17 teams at the Canada Winter Games, which formerly replaced the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge every four years.

Nugent-Hopkins was the first of 76 players with U17 ties selected during the two-day draft in St. Paul, Minn., including 20 first-round choices, tying the second-most ever. The 20 drafts also included 20 alumni taken in the first round, while the 2003 draft had an all-time high of 21.

In total, 60 players from the 2010 tournament in Timmins were selected, along with 17 alumni of the 2009 event in Port Alberni, B.C., and two from London, Ont., in 2008.

From the 2010 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, 23 players who were on the ice for the gold medal game – nine from the gold medal-winning United States and 14 from Ontario – were selected, including the two players who accounted for all three goals in the 2-1 U.S. victory.

Tyler Biggs, who had both goals for the Americans, was a first-round selection of the Toronto Maple Leafs, taken 22nd overall, while Ontario’s Daniel Catenacci was taken in the third round by the Buffalo Sabres, 77th overall.


Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (1st overall, Edmonton) 2010 – Pacific
Jonathan Huberdeau (3rd overall, Florida) 2010 – Québec
Ryan Strome (5th overall, New York Islanders) 2010 – Ontario
Mika Zibanejad (6th overall, Ottawa) 2010 – Sweden
Sean Couturier (8th overall, Philadelphia) 2008 & 2009 – Atlantic
Dougie Hamilton (9th overall, Boston) 2010 – Ontario
Jonas Brodin (10th overall, Minnesota) 2010 – Sweden
Duncan Siemens (11th overall, Colorado) 2010 – Pacific
Ryan Murphy (12th overall, Carolina) 2010 – Ontario
J.T. Miller (15th overall, New York Rangers) 2010 – United States
Joel Armia (16th overall, Buffalo) 2010 – Finland
Nathan Beaulieu (17th overall, Montreal) 2009 – Atlantic
Mark McNeill (18th overall, Chicago) 2010 – Pacific
Oscar Klefbom (19th overall, Edmonton) 2010 – Sweden
Tyler Biggs (22nd overall, Toronto) 2010 – United States
Matt Puempel (24th overall, Ottawa) 2010 – Ontario
Stuart Percy (25th overall, Toronto) 2010 – Ontario
Phillip Danault (26th overall, Chicago) 2010 – Québec
Vladislav Namestnikov (27th overall, Tampa Bay) 2009 – Russia
Rickard Rakell (30th overall, Anaheim) 2010 – Sweden
Ty Rattie (32nd overall, St. Louis) 2010 – Pacific
Rocco Grimaldi (33rd overall, Florida) 2010 – United States
Tomas Jurco (35th overall, Detroit) 2009 – Slovakia
Adam Clendening (36th overall, Chicago) 2009 – United States
Boone Jenner (37th overall, Columbus) 2010 – Ontario
John Gibson (39th overall, Anaheim) 2010 – United States
Alexander Khoklachev (40th overall, Boston) 2010 – Russia
Victor Rask (42nd overall, Carolina) 2010 – Sweden
Brandon Saad (43rd overall, Chicago) 2009 – United States
Brett Ritchie (44th overall, Dallas) 2010 – Ontario
Markus Granlund (45th overall, Calgary) 2010 – Finland
Matthew Nieto (47th overall, San Jose) 2009 – United States
Xavier Ouellet (48th overall, Detroit) 2010 – Québec
Miikka Salomäki (52nd overall, Nashville) 2010 – Finland
Scott Harrington (54th overall, Pittsburgh) 2010 – Ontario
Lucas Lessio (56th overall, Phoenix) 2010 – Ontario
Tyler Wotherspoon (57th overall, Calgary) 2010 – Pacific
Rasmus Bengtsson (59th overall, Florida) 2010 – Sweden
Adam Lowry (67th overall, Winnipeg) 2010 – Pacific
Michael Paliotta (70th overall, Chicago) 2010 – United States
David Honzik (71st overall, Vancouver) 2010 – Czech Republic
Travis Ewanyk (74th overall, Edmonton) 2010 – Pacific
Logan Shaw (76th overall, Florida) 2009 – Atlantic
Daniel Catenacci (77th overall, Buffalo) 2010 – Ontario
Nick Shore (82nd overall, Los Angeles) 2009 – United States
Harrison Ruopp (84th overall, Phoenix) 2010 – West
Alan Quine (85th overall, Detroit) 2010 – Ontario
Jonathan Racine (87th overall, Florida) 2010 – Québec
Justin Sefton (89th overall, San Jose) 2010 – Ontario
Joachim Nermark (93rd overall, Colorado) 2010 – Sweden
Robbie Russo (95th overall, New York Islanders) 2010 – United States
Reid Boucher (99th overall, New Jersey) 2010 – United States
Yannick Veilleux (102nd overall, St. Louis) 2010 – Québec
Michael St. Croix (106th overall, New York Rangers) 2009 & 2010 – West
Olivier Archambault (108th overall, Montreal) 2010 – Québec
Maxim Shalunov (109th overall, Chicago) 2010 – Russia
Michael Mersch (110th overall, Los Angeles) 2009 – United States
Tobias Rieder (114th overall, Edmonton) 2009 – Germany
Marcel Noebels (118th overall, Philadelphia) 2009 – Germany
Zac Yuen (119th overall, Winnipeg) 2010 – Pacific
Garrett Meurs (123rd overall, Colorado) 2010 – Ontario
Blake Pietila (129th overall, New Jersey) 2010 – United States
Philippe Hudon (145th overall, Detroit) 2010 – Québec
David Broll (152nd overall, Toronto) 2010 – Ontario
Gabriel Beaupre (153rd overall, Colorado) 2009 – Québec
Lukas Sedlak (158th overall, Columbus) 2010 – Czech Republic
Reece Scarlett (159th overall, New Jersey) 2010 – Pacific
Ryan Tesink (162nd overall, St. Louis) 2010 – Atlantic
Laurent Brossoit (164th overall, Calgary) 2010 – Pacific
Nathan Lieuwen (167th overall, Buffalo) 2008 – Pacific
Chase Balisy (170th overall, Nashville) 2009 – United States
Dillon Donnelly (183rd overall, Colorado) 2010 – Québec
Jordan Fransoo (186th overall, Ottawa) 2010 – West
Zac Larraza (196th overall, Phoenix) 2010 – United States
Brent Andrews (202nd overall, Nashville) 2009 & 2010 – Atlantic
Alexei Marchenko (205th overall, Detroit) 2009 – Russia

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.