Hockey Canada's 92nd Annual General Meeting Concludes in Calgary, Alta.; Michael Bruni, of Calgary, Alta., Elected Chairman of The Board;
Zero Tolerance Measures Approved for Head Contact and Head Checks in Hockey
May 28, 2011

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada’s 92nd Annual General Meeting (AGM), attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Saturday at the Westin Calgary after three days of discussion about what will benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.

Hockey Canada’s 2011 AGM brought together the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, partner organizations and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.

On Saturday afternoon, Michael Bruni (Calgary, Alta.), was elected chair of the board by acclamation, taking over for Ken Corbett (Carleton Place, Ont.), who concluded a term of over two years as chair of Hockey Canada’s board of directors.

In addition, Jim Hornell (Brantford, Ont.) was elected executive vice-chair by acclamation, James Mays (Prince Albert, Sask.) was elected referee-in-chief by acclamation, while Corbett takes on the position of past chair.

Five officers were also elected to Hockey Canada’s board of directors: Claude Allain (Gatineau, Que.), Michael Brind’Amour (St-Charles-Borromée, Que.), Joe Drago (Sudbury, Ont.), Terry Ledingham (Bon Accord, Alta.) and Ed Pupich (Schumacher, Ont.). 

The Hockey Canada AGM delegates also recognized and thanked retiring officer Marcel Redekop (Herbert, Sask.) and outgoing past chair René Marcil (Trois-Rivières, Que.).

Items approved by Hockey Canada’s board of directors during this year’s AGM include:

  • zero tolerance measures for all head contact or checks in minor, female, junior and senior hockey:
    • in minor and female hockey, a minor penalty shall be assessed for all accidental hits to the head, while a double minor penalty, or a major and game misconduct at the discretion of the referee based on the degree of violence of impact, shall be assessed for any intentional contact to the head;
    • in junior (Junior A, B, C, D) and senior hockey, a minor and a misconduct or a major and a game misconduct shall be assessed for all checks to the head, at the discretion of the referee
    • a major penalty and a game misconduct, or match penalty, shall be assessed to any player who injures an opponent under this rule
    • approval of an action plan to address recruitment and retention in Canada, including:
    • membership card;
    • partnerships;
    • education and communications initiatives;
    • reporting strategies;
  • an e-learning strategy that will bring hockey development (coaching, officiating, safety) to Hockey Canada’s membership through on-line platforms
  • a new strategy for the development, recruitment and licensing of Hockey Canada sports schools

Host communities approved by Hockey Canada’s board of directors at the 2011 Hockey Canada AGM:

2011-12 season

  • 2011 World Junior A Challenge – Langley, B.C.

2012-13 season

  • 2012 World Junior A Challenge – Yarmouth, N.S.
  • 2013 Esso Cup – Burnaby, B.C.
  • 2013 TELUS Cup – Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.
  • 2013 RBC Cup – Summerside, P.E.I.

Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting kicked off Thursday, May 26 and included a banquet on the evening of Friday, May 27 that honoured ten deserving award recipients who have all had a significant impact on the hockey community.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: STA 6 – BRA 2 (Preliminary)
Doyle had 2G 1A, and the Slash came back to clinch second place.
2018 U18WC: CZE 2 – CAN 1 (Quarter-final)
Dellandrea scored late, but Canada fell one short against the Czechs.
2018 TELUS Cup: NDH 2 – LET 1 (Preliminary)
Mylymok scored both goals, and the Hounds made it four wins in a row.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 5 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
Shirley and Parker had 1G 1A each, and the Stars finished perfect.