Hockey Canada's National Award Winners Announced Terry Engen of Eckville, Alberta Named Outstanding Volunteer of The Year
May 27, 2011

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada honoured ten community leaders from across the country during the awards banquet Friday night, held as part of the governing body’s 92nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Westin Calgary.

The 2011 Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Terry Engen of Eckville, Alta. He has spent more than 25 years volunteering his time to causes in minor hockey and by serving his community, his province and his country. A fifth-generation farmer from Eckville, a town of just over 900 people, Engen has spent a quarter of a century as a director on the Eckville arena board, helping to make minor hockey accessible to as many local children as possible.

The ten award winners are as follows:

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award
(outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey)
Laurie Taylor-Bolton (Barrie, Ont.)

Liz MacKinnon Award
(special contributions of a Hockey Canada volunteer’s spouse)
Jill Donovan (Saint John, N.B.)

Hal Lewis Award
(Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization)
Dean McIntosh (Calgary, Alta.)

Gordon Juckes Award
(outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey at the national level)
Jean-François Mouton (Boucherville, Que.)

Officiating Award
(outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level)
Kevin Muench (Moose Jaw, Sask.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Atlantic
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Glenn Hurley (Rothesay, N.B.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Central
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Réal Cyr (Montreal-Nord, Que.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – West
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Lorne Wilm (Central Butte, Sask.)

Chair’s Award
(an individual who has influenced the chairman of the board in a positive way)
Al Lymer (Edmonton, Alta.)

Outstanding Volunteer Award
(outstanding volunteer work in amateur hockey and Hockey Canada)
Terry Engen (Eckville, Alta.)

Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s selection committee. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the country.

More than 250 representatives from regional and provincial hockey associations are in Calgary for Hockey Canada’s 92nd Annual General Meeting, which started Thursday, May 26 and wraps up Sunday, May 29.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.
2018 PARA: CAN 17 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor and Dixon had six points each in a Paralympic-opening win.
2018 OLY: CAN 6 – CZE 4 (Bronze Medal)
Ebbett and Kelly scored two goals each to help Canada win bronze.