Canada's National Junior Team Development Camp Set for St. John's, N.L. From August 4-7; Roster Additions Announced for Development Camp
July 30, 2010

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Friday final details and roster additions for the National Junior Team development camp from August 4-7 in St. John’s, N.L. at Mile One Centre.

The players attending camp, born in 19, were selected by Hockey Canada head scout Al Murray, in consultation with the coaching staff. Head coach Dave Cameron (Mississauga St. Michael’s, OHL) along with assistant coaches Ryan Huska (Kelowna, WHL) and André Tourigny (Rouyn-Noranda, QMJHL) will lead the players through practices and two intersquad games at the development camp, in what is the first step towards naming Canada’s team for the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship. George Burnett, recently named an assistant coach with the team, will not be at the camp due to his involvement as head coach of Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team.


Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, also announced the addition of three players to the camp roster. Defencemen Nathan Beaulieu (Quispamsis, N.B./Saint John, QMJHL) and Brock Beukeboom (Uxbridge, Ont./Sault Ste. Marie, OHL), along with forward Joey Hishon (Stratford, Ont./Owen Sound, OHL), have been added to the camp roster. These three players will replace defencemen Jared Cowen (Allan, Sask./Spokane, WHL) and Ryan Ellis (Freelton, Ont./Windsor, OHL) and forward Taylor Hall (Kingston, Ont./Windsor, OHL), who will not be taking part in camp for various reasons.

Cowen will be in attendance at the camp but not available for contact due to his recovery from mononucleosis.  Ellis, as a two-time member of Canada’s National Junior Team, has opted to not attend the camp, which is allowed under program policy. Hall has informed Hockey Canada and the CHL that he will not be attending the development camp.


Canada’s National Junior Team development camp will run from August 4-7 at Mile One Centre in St. John’s, N.L.. The camp includes on-ice sessions, two Red-White intrasquad games and off-ice activities that will help Hockey Canada and the coaching staff assemble Canada’s roster for the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship in Buffalo and Niagara, N.Y.


All practices are open free of charge to the public. The camp also includes two Red-White games that will be open to the public; for ticket information, call (709) 576-7657 or 1-800-361-4595, or go to Tickets for both games are part of a special ticket package on sale now for only $99 (plus applicable fees). Individual tickets to both Red-White games go on sale on August 5.


Both Red-White games at the National Junior Team development camp will be available via webcast through FASTHockey at All games are available on a pay-per-view basis for $6.99 each. All Red and White practices will also be available through FASTHockey, free of charge.


Media wishing to cover the camp at any time should forward their particulars (name, affiliation, role) to Andre Brin to ensure they are on the media list to access Mile One Centre at Gate 5. Players will be made available to media following their on-ice sessions. Members of the coaching staff or team management will be available for interviews following games and the final on-ice session of the morning.


An advisory with details on media access on August 3 (players arrivals in the evening) and August 4 will be circulated prior to the camp.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.
2018 PARA: CAN 17 – SWE 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor and Dixon had six points each in a Paralympic-opening win.
2018 OLY: CAN 6 – CZE 4 (Bronze Medal)
Ebbett and Kelly scored two goals each to help Canada win bronze.