Sixty-One Hockey Champions to Attend HCF Celebrity Classic Gala, Including 'Canada Celebrates' Event at Commonwealth Stadium on June 28
June 24, 2010

EDMONTON, Alta. – The Hockey Canada Foundation (HCF), in collaboration with the HCF Celebrity Classic organizing committee, announced Thursday that 61 of the 64 Olympic and World hockey champions from the 2009-10 season have confirmed their attendance for the HCF Celebrity Classic gala, including the Canada Celebrates event at Commonwealth Stadium on Monday, June 28 in Edmonton.

The list of sixty-one players who will attend the event includes:

All three team captains

Jessica Campbell, Hayley Wickenheiser, Scott Niedermayer

All three golden goal scorers

Campbell, Sidney Crosby, Marie-Philip Poulin

All three gold medal game goaltenders

Roberto Luongo, Carmen MacDonald, Shannon Szabados

All five tournament directorate award winners

Meghan Agosta (MVP, Top Forward), 

Campbell (MVP), Brigette Lacquette (Top Defenceman),

Shannon Szabados (Top Goaltender), Jonathan Toews (Top Forward)

The 61 players will be joined at the celebrations by members of all three team staffs including head coaches Mike Babcock, Melody Davidson and Dan Church, along with Men’s Olympic Team general manager Steve Yzerman.  

Tickets for Canada Celebrates, the public event on June 28 at Commonwealth Stadium are available for only $10 each (plus applicable fees and taxes), based on open seating at the venue, by going to, by calling 780-451-8000 and at all Ticketmaster outlets. This special event will not only celebrate Canada’s three Olympic and world champion teams from the past season, but will also pay tribute to the members of Canada’s military and their families.

Doors open Monday, June 28 at 4 p.m. at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton.  Entertainment begins at 4:30 p.m., with the show scheduled to start at 5:30 p.m., featuring interviews with players and staff, as well as performances by the Mike Plume Band, The Mudmen and George Canyon.  

For event sponsorship and gala table sales, click HERE.  Please note that the golf tournament on June 29 is sold out.


2010 Men’s Olympic Team 2010 Women’s Olympic Team 2010 Women’s U-18 Team

Patrice Bergeron

Dan Boyle

Sidney Crosby

Drew Doughty

Marc-André Fleury

Ryan Getzlaf

Dany Heatley

Jarome Iginla

Duncan Keith

Roberto Luongo

Patrick Marleau

Brenden Morrow

Rick Nash

Scott Niedermayer

Corey Perry

Michael Richards

Brent Seabrook

Eric Staal

Joe Thornton

Jonathan Toews

Shea Weber

Meghan Agosta

Gillian Apps

Tessa Bonhomme

Jennifer Botterill

Jayna Hefford

Haley Irwin

Rebecca Johnston

Becky Kellar

Gina Kingsbury

Charline Labonté

Carla MacLeod

Meaghan Mikkelson

Caroline Ouellette

Cherie Piper

Marie-Philip Poulin

Kim St-Pierre

Colleen Sostorics

Shannon Szabados

Sarah Vaillancourt

Hayley Wickenheiser

Erin Ambrose

Hannah Armstrong

Christine Bestland

Jessica Campbell

Hayleigh Cudmore

Mélanie Daoust

Sarah Davis

Shannon Doyle

Emily Fulton

Erica Howe

Laurie Kingsbury

Brigette Lacquette

Caitlin MacDonald

Carmen MacDonald

Jenna McParland

Carly Mercer

Cassandra Poudrier

Jamie Lee Rattray

Jillian Saulnier

Kelly Terry

All proceeds from Canada Celebrates will go to the Hockey Canada Foundation, which supports minor hockey programs across the country, and to the Canadian Heroes Fund
(, a charity that provides academic scholarships to spouses and children of soldiers killed in combat.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.