Hockey Canada's 91st Annual General Meeting Concludes in Montreal, Que. Branches Receive Close to $2 Million in Legacy Funds From 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship
May 31, 2010

MONTRÉAL, Que. – Hockey Canada’s 91st annual general meeting, attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Sunday at the Westin Montréal after three days of discussion about what will benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.

Hockey Canada’s 2010 AGM brought together the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, partner organizations and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.

Also during this year’s AGM, Hockey Canada’s 13 branches were presented with their cheques as part of the legacy from the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship in Regina and Saskatoon, Sask., which will contribute millions of dollars in funding to various levels of grassroots hockey in Canada.

Twelve of Hockey Canada’s branches received cheques for $99,000, while the Saskatchewan Hockey Association, host branch of the event, received a cheque for $614,000. All of these funds will go towards the growth of grassroots hockey in every region of the country, to help grow Canada’s game and develop the future stars of Canada’s National Junior Team.

In total, the event’s legacy will contribute more than $15 million in funding various levels of grassroots hockey, including Hockey Canada programs, Hockey Canada’s 13 branches and the Canadian Hockey League. The legacy program is a lasting memory of all IIHF World Junior Championships held in Canada, which are events that consistently give back to the branches and minor hockey associations across the country.

“This is a truly great example of how Hockey Canada’s national program events give back to the sport at a grassroots level and contribute to the future growth of the game,” said Ken Corbett, chair of the Hockey Canada Board of Directors. “We will continue hosting prestigious international events such as the IIHF World Junior Championship so we can help Canada’s young hockey players develop into the very best on the ice.”

Items approved by Hockey Canada’s board of directors during this year’s AGM include:

- The two referee, one linesman officiating system as an option for Hockey Canada games (should branches and their leagues wish to implement)

- Hockey P.E.I. and Charlottetown, P.E.I. as the hosts of the 2012 Esso Cup 

- Hockey Alberta and Leduc, Alta. as the hosts of the 2012 TELUS Cup

- Saskatchewan Hockey Association, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League and the Humboldt Broncos as the hosts of the 2012 RBC Cup

Other items discussed at Hockey Canada’s 2010 AGM include:

- Recommendation that Hockey Canada move forward with the development of a spring and summer skills development licensing program and a development coach licensing program

- Recommendation that Hockey Canada form a work group to review the National Coaching Certification Program

- James Mays (Saskatoon, Sask.) elected as new referee-in-chief for Hockey Canada

- Recognition of departing board members Hockey PEI president Gordie Whitlock, ODHA president Richard Waldroff and referee-in-chief Vernon Doyle

Hockey Canada’s annual general meeting kicked off Thursday, May 27 and included a banquet on the evening of Friday, May 28 that honoured nine deserving award recipients who have all had significant impacts on the hockey community.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: CAN 9 – AIR 1 (Exhibition)
Saulnier and Johnston had 2G each to help Canada win its Esso opener.
2017-18 NWT: NOR 4 – CAN 0 (Icebreaker)
Lacasse made 22 saves, but Canada was blanked in the tournament final.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – ROY 1 (Icebreaker)
Poulin scored twice in the third period to send Canada to the win.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 4 – FLA 1 (Icebreaker)
Saulnier got the GWG to lead Canada to its first Icebreaker victory.