Canada's National Sledge Team Arrives in Vancouver on March 6; Daily Practices and Media Availability Begin on March 7
NR.024.10
|
March 6, 2010
|

CALGARY, Alta. – Canada’s National Sledge Team will begin its quest for gold at the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games with its first practice in Vancouver on Sunday, March 7.

Canada’s National Sledge Team will attempt to make it three gold medals for the nation’s hockey teams when the Paralympics open on March 12 in Vancouver, following gold medal wins for Canada’s men’s and women’s Olympic teams at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

All of the sledge team’s practices and games will be held at UBC.

NATIONAL SLEDGE TEAM SCHEDULE (MARCH 7-12)

March 7: practice from 2:15-3:30 p.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 8: practice from 12-1:15 p.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 9: pre-Olympic game vs. Czech Republic at 1:30 p.m. (UBC Rink A)

March 10: practice from 11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. (UBC Rink A)

March 11: practice from 10:15-11:30 a.m. (UBC Rink B)

March 12: practice from 9:30-10:45 a.m. (UBC Rink A)

NATIONAL SLEDGE TEAM GAME SCHEDULE (ALL TIMES PT)

March 13: Canada vs. Italy, 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET (live on Sportsnet Pacific; will air at 4 p.m. PT on CTV)

March 14: Canada vs. Sweden, 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET (live on all Sportsnet stations)

March 16: Canada vs. Norway, 8:30 p.m. PT/11:30 p.m. ET (live on TSN)

Note: The broadcast schedule for the playoff round will be updated on hockeycanada.ca.

All media requests for Canada’s National Sledge Team can be directed to Chris Jurewicz at cjurewicz@hockeycanada.ca.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)
ldornan@hockeycanada.ca

 

Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)
mbell@hockeycanada.ca

 

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
emadziya@hockeycanada.ca

 

Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
ssharkey@hockeycanada.ca

 

Videos
Photos
2018 U18WC: CAN 5 – SUI 0 (Preliminary)
Rodrigue made 17 saves to lead Canada to help Canada blank the Swiss.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 3 – LAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Hewett scored late to tie it, and the Slash earned an extra-time win.
2018 Esso Cup: NOR 3 – MBP 1 (Preliminary)
MacLean scored twice, including the late winner, to lead the Selects.
2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
Schedule
Close
Credit