Canada Earns Silver Medal Medal at 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship; Return Flight Information for Team Canada Members
January 5, 2010

Saskatoon, Sask. – Canada’s gold medal streak at the IIHF World Junior Championship has ended at five with a 6-5 overtime loss to the United States in Tuesday’s gold medal game at Credit Union Centre in Saskatoon.

Trailing 5-3 with time ticking away, Jordan Eberle (Regina, Sask./Regina, WHL) scored twice to force overtime, and also became Canada’s all-time leading goal scorer at the World Juniors, passing John Tavares. Canada, which also fought back from 2-1 and 3-2 deficits, also got goals from Luke Adam (St. John’s, N.L./Cape Breton, QMJHL), Greg Nemisz (Courtice, Ont./Windsor, OHL) and Taylor Hall (Kingston, Ont./Windsor, OHL).

The two teams played a back-and-forth 60 minutes, with Adam scoring first before the Americans struck for two just 36 seconds apart to take the lead. Nemisz tied it before the end of the first period, but the U.S. regained the lead early in the second. Taylor Hall tied it again 2:53 later before two goals 2:11 apart gave the Americans their biggest lead of the game early in the third period and set up Eberle’s heroics.

Earlier Tuesday, Sweden captured the bronze medal with an 11-4 victory over Switzerland.

Directorate award winners

Top Goaltender: Benjamin Conz (SUI)

Top Defenceman: Alex Pietrangelo (CAN)

Top Forward: Jordan Eberle (CAN)

Media all-star team

G – Benjamin Conz (SUI)

D – Alex Pietrangelo (CAN)

D – John Carlson (USA)

F – Jordan Eberle (CAN)

F - Derek Stepan (USA)

F – Nino Niederreiter (SUI)

MVP – Jordan Eberle (CAN)

Canada has now medaled at twelve straight IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 20, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 20 and bronze medals in 20.


Flights are listed alphabetically by final destination and all flight information listed with local times

Baie-Comeau, Que. 6:50 p.m. (AC 8964) Gabriel Bourque

Calgary, Alta. 12:15 p.m. (WS 121) Brandon Kozun, Martin Jones

Calgary, Alta. 12:30 p.m. (AC 8587) Brad Pascall (senior director, men’s national teams), Dr. Brian Benson (team doctor), Ben Cooper (video coach)

Calgary, Alta. 2:05 p.m. (AC 8589) Derek Blais (coordinator, men’s national teams)

Charlottetown, P.E.I. 4:53 p.m. (AC 7674) Kevin Elliott (therapist)

Kelowna, B.C. 11 a.m. (WS 257) Brandon McMillan

London, Ont. 7:58 p.m. (WS 162) Nazem Kadri

Mont-Joli, Que. 6 :07 p.m. (AC 8964) Jordan Caron, Patrice Cormier

* Montreal, Que. 1:08 p.m. (AC 8980) Gabriel Bourque, Jordan Caron, Patrice Cormier, Marco Scandella, André Tourigny (assistant coach)

* Connecting through this location to another final destination.  May be limited time availability if there are flight delays

San Jose, Calif. 1:54 p.m. (UA 6303) Alex Pietrangelo

Rouyn-Noranda, Que. 5:13 p.m. (AC 8757) André Tourigny (assistant coach)

Toronto, Ont. 3:50 p.m. (WS 456) Dave Cameron (associate coach), Steve Spott (assistant coach), Stefan Della Rovere, Ron Tugnutt (goaltending coach), Dan Lebold (equipment manager), Paul Krotz (media relations)

Toronto, Ont. 3:56 p.m. (AC 110) Calvin de Haan

Val d’Or, Que. 8:05 p.m. (AC 8753) Marco Scandella

Windsor, Ont. 7:20 p.m. (AC 7759) Ryan Ellis, Taylor Hall, Adam Henrique, Greg Nemisz


Fredericton, N.B. 4:56 p.m. (AC 7668) Jake Allen

Spokane, Wash. 7:55 p.m. (UA 834) Jared Cowen

St. John’s, N.L. 4:34 p.m. (AC 692) Luke Adam

NOTE - Players and staff members not listed above are driving back to their final destinations and/or returning over the coming 7-10 days. Their arrival information is not confirmed. Please communicate with their respective club teams for further information.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.