Crosby, Keith Receive Top NHL Honours Days Before Attending 'Canada Celebrates' Event in Edmonton
June 25, 2010

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Chicago Blackhawks defenceman Duncan Keith, who have already won Olympic gold medals this year, added to their hardware Wednesday, June 23 at the 2010 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Crosby (Cole Harbour, N.S.) received the Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award for exemplifying “great leadership qualities to his team” and the Maurice Richard Trophy for being one of two top goal scorers in the league, while Keith (Winnipeg, Man.) won the James Norris Memorial Trophy for demonstrating “the greatest all-round ability in the position” during the 2009-10 season.

Crosby and Keith were both members of the 2010 Men’s Olympic Team and will be in Edmonton, Alta. on Monday, June 28 for the Hockey Canada Foundation (HCF) Celebrity Classic gala, including the public Canada Celebrates event at Commonwealth Stadium. They are two of 61 Olympic and World hockey champions from 2009-10 who will be attending the highly-anticipated celebration.

Other Canadians honoured at the 2010 NHL Awards:

Martin Brodeur (Montreal, Que./New Jersey Devils) – William M. Jennings Trophy

Shane Doan (Halkirk, Alta./Phoenix Coyotes) – King Clancy Trophy

Steve Stamkos (Markham, Ont./Tampa Bay Lightning) – tied with Crosby for Maurice Richard Trophy

Martin St. Louis (Laval, Que./Tampa Bay Lightning) – Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

José Théodore (Laval, Que./Washington Capitals) – Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./Phoenix Coyotes) – Jack Adams Award      

The NHL also announced its 2009-10 All-Rookie Team, which consists of the top six rookies from the season, including four players who represented Canada at the 2010 IIHF World Championship held in Germany this spring.

NHL All-Rookie Team members who played at this year’s World Championship:

Michael Del Zotto (Stouffville, Ont./New York Rangers)

Tyler Myers (Dewinton, Alta./Buffalo Sabres)

John Tavares (Oakville, Ont./New York Islanders)

Matthew Duchene (Haliburton, Ont./Colorado Avalanche)

For more information on the 2010 NHL Awards, go to

For more information on the upcoming HCF Celebrity Classic gala, including how to buy tickets for the Canada Celebrates event on June 28, go to

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.