James, Ciccarelli and Seaman Earn Induction Into Hockey Hall of Fame
June 22, 2010

Canadian women’s hockey pioneer Angela James has earned induction into the Hockey Hall of Fame, becoming one of the first two women to be enshrined with the greats of the game.

James and American hockey legend Cammi Granato became the first two women to be elected to the Hall when the 2010 inductees were announced Tuesday. In addition, three-time Team Canada member Dino Ciccarelli and the late Daryl ‘Doc’ Seaman, a long-time supporter of Hockey Canada, were also elected.

One of the pioneers of women’s hockey, both in Canada and on the international stage, James is a name synonymous with the female game. A four-time IIHF World Women’s Championship gold medalist, her 11 goals in 1990 is still a single-tournament Canadian record.

“Angela was one of the women that brought early recognition to our sport, and we congratulate her on her historic induction,” said Melody Davidson. “She was a pioneer 25 years ago when the women’s game was just beginning to grow, and she is a pioneer today as one of the first women to earn induction into the Hockey Hall of Fame.”

James was just as successful on the national stage as she was in international hockey, winning more than a dozen medals and eight Most Valuable Player awards at Canadian national women’s championships during her decorated career, and eight scoring titles and six MVP awards in the Central Ontario Women’s Hockey League, where she was a numerous-time league and provincial champion.

Ciccarelli, who scored 608 goals in a 1,232-game NHL career, first represented Canada on the international stage at the 1980 IIHF World Junior Championship in Finland, leading Canada in scoring, and later played at a pair of IIHF World Championships, winning bronze in 1982 in Finland and finishing fourth in 1987 in Austria.

Seaman, one of the original owners of the Calgary Flames, was a founding member of Flames Project 75, an oil and gas legacy that has contributed more than $5 million to minor hockey development initiatives in Canada as well as other charities in Alberta. In 2009 the Project 75 Group became officially known as the Seaman Hotchkiss Foundation as it continues to support grassroots initiatives across Canada.

Seaman died in January 2009 at age 86.

James, Granato, Ciccarelli and Seaman, along with longtime NHL executive Jimmy Devellano, will be officially inducted during ceremonies at the Hockey Hall of Fame on November 8. For more information on the induction weekend, please contact Sarah Talbot with the Hockey Hall of Fame at (416) 933-8237 or at stalbot@hhof.com, or CLICK HERE.


Year Team Event GP G A PTS PIM Result
Année Équipe Événement PJ B A PTS PUN Résultat
1990 CAN WWC 5 11 2 13 10 Gold/Or
1992 CAN WWC 5 5 2 7 2 Gold/Or
1994 CAN WWC 5 4 5 9 2 Gold/Or
1996 CAN PacRim 5 3 4 7 2 Gold/Or
1996 CAN 4NC 5 1 2 3 2 Gold/Or
1997 CAN WWC 5 2 3 5 2 Gold/Or
1997-98 CAN Pre-OLY 15 7 1 8 4 Gold/Or
  CAN TOTAL 45 33 19 52 24  

Year Team Event GP G A PTS PIM Result
Année Équipe Événement PJ B A PTS PUN Résultat
1980 CAN WJC 5 5 1 6 2 5th/5e
1982 CAN WJC 9 2 1 3 2 Bronze
1987 CAN WC 10 4 2 6 2 4th/4e
  CAN TOTAL 24 11 4 15 6  

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.