Hockey Canada Level VI Officiating Seminar Attracts Top Officials From Canada and The World to Moncton, N.B.
November 10, 2009

CALGARY, Alta. - Fifteen officials from across Canada and two international delegates will attend the Hockey Canada Level VI Officiating Seminar from November 11-15th in Moncton, N.B., Hockey Canada announced Tuesday.

The seminar prepares top officials in Canada for officiating at domestic events (World Junior A Challenge, National Women’s Under-18 Championship, World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, Esso Cup, TELUS Cup, RBC Cup) and designated IIHF competitions (world championships, Olympics).

"Canada has always been a top provider of quality level of officials throughout the world," said Vernon Doyle, Hockey Canada’s referee-in-chief. "This begins with the Hockey Canada Officiating Program, an instruction program that is the envy of other hockey nations around the world."


Level VI seminars are held based on a national need for Level VI officials. The last Hockey Canada Level VI Officiating Seminar was held in Cambridge, Ont. in 2007. Todd Anderson, Hockey Canada’s manager of officiating, is responsible for the organization of the site and program, establishing criteria and reviewing the candidates’ qualifications.

Candidates on hand have been nominated by the Hockey Canada branches and are already fully-certified Level V officials. An established selection committee reviewed all the candidates and selected those that will be in attendance in Moncton.

The instruction will be handled by, among others, Doyle, Anderson and Hockey Canada referee committee members Doug Hayward and Kevin Muench. Guest instructors will also be making presentations throughout the seminar.

A total of seventeen officials, including one female official and two international delegates, will participate in the five-day seminar. There are approximately 80 active Level VI officials registered annually in Canada.

Delegates for the Hockey Canada Level VI Officiating Seminar are:


Mathieu Bergeron (Sainte-Thérèse, Que.) Hockey Québec

Sheldon Dean (Regina, Sask.) Saskatchewan Hockey Association

Mary Anne Gage (Burlington, Ont.) Ontario Hockey Federation

David Gauthier (Toronto, Ont.) Ontario Hockey Federation

Tim Hamel (Charlottetown, P.E.I.) Hockey PEI

Trevor Hanson (Richmond, B.C.) Western Hockey League

Iain Hollett (Conception Bay South, N.L.) Hockey Newfoundland Labrador

Jeff Hopkins (Moncton, N.B.) Hockey New Brunswick

Curtis Howe (Saskatoon, Sask.) Saskatchewan Hockey Association

Thomas John Luxmore (Waterloo, Ont.) Ontario Hockey Federation

Frédéric Leblanc (Gatineau, Que.) Hockey Québec

Ryan Murphy (Moncton, N.B.) Hockey New Brunswick

Steve Papp (Kelowna, B.C.) BC Hockey

Jonathan Stephenson (Edmonton, Alta.) Hockey Alberta

Tom Sweeney (Kanata, Ont.) Ottawa District Hockey Association


Tobias Wehrli (Switzerland)

Lars Brüggemann (Germany)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NST: WHT 3 – RED 2 (Intrasquad)
Delaney scored a pair of special-teams goals to help White edge Red.
2017-18 NST: WHT 2 – KOR 0 (Exhibition)
White blanks Korea at sledge camp
2017-18 NST: RED 4 – KOR 1 (Exhibition)
Red starts sledge camp with win
BDO launches Goals for Kids program
As part of the BDO Goals for Kids program, $100 will go to minor hockey associations across the country for every Team Canada goal scored at Hockey Canada-hosted international events, and $50 will be donated for every goal scored at a trio of national championships – the Esso Cup, TELUS Cup and RBC Cup.