Hockey Canada Invites 46 Players to Canada's National Men's Team Orientation Camp in Calgary From August 24-27
July 2, 2009

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced on Thursday the roster of 46 players that will attend Canada’s National Men’s Team orientation camp from August 24-27 in Calgary.

These 46 players have been identified as candidates for upcoming international events in the 2009-10 season: the 2010 Olympic Winter Games and 2010 IIHF World Championship.

The camp roster includes five goaltenders, 16 defencemen and 25 forwards. The list of players includes 40 players with senior international experience, either at the Olympics, IIHF World Championship or World Cup of Hockey/Canada Cup, while 36 of the 46 players played for either the National Junior Team or National Men’s Under-18 Team.

Goaltenders (5)

Martin Brodeur (Montreal, Que./New Jersey, NHL)

Marc-André Fleury (Sorel, Que./Pittsburgh, NHL)

Roberto Luongo (Montreal, Que./Vancouver, NHL)

Steve Mason (Oakville, Ont./Columbus, NHL)

Cam Ward (Sherwood Park, Alta./Carolina, NHL)

Defencemen (16)

François Beauchemin (Sorel, Que./Anaheim, NHL)

Jay Bouwmeester (Edmonton, Alta./Calgary, NHL)

Dan Boyle (Ottawa, Ont./San Jose, NHL)

Brent Burns (Ajax, Ont./Minnesota, NHL)

Drew Doughty (London, Ont./Los Angeles, NHL)

Mike Green (Calgary, Alta./Washington, NHL)

Dan Hamhuis (Smithers, B.C./Nashville, NHL)

Duncan Keith (Penticton, B.C./Chicago, NHL)

Scott Niedermayer (Cranbrook, B.C./Anaheim, NHL)

Dion Phaneuf (Edmonton, Alta./Calgary, NHL)

Chris Pronger (Dryden, Ont./Philadelphia, NHL)

Robyn Regehr (Rosthern, Sask./Calgary, NHL)

Stéphane Robidas (Sherbrooke, Que./Dallas, NHL)

Brent Seabrook (Tsawwassen, B.C./Chicago, NHL)

Marc Staal (Thunder Bay, Ont./N.Y. Rangers, NHL)

Shea Weber (Sicamous, B.C./Nashville, NHL)

Forwards (25)

Jeff Carter (London, Ont./Philadelphia, NHL)

Dan Cleary (Carbonear, N.L./Detroit, NHL)

Sidney Crosby (Cole Harbour, N.S./Pittsburgh, NHL)

Shane Doan (Halkirk, Alta./Phoenix, NHL)

Simon Gagné (Ste-Foy, Que./Philadelphia, NHL)

Ryan Getzlaf (Regina, Sask./Anaheim, NHL)

Dany Heatley (Calgary, Alta./Ottawa, NHL)

Jarome Iginla (St. Albert, Alta./Calgary, NHL)

Vincent Lecavalier (Île-Bizard, Que./Tampa Bay, NHL)

Milan Lucic (Vancouver, B.C./Boston, NHL)

Patrick Marleau (Aneroid, Sask./San Jose, NHL)

Andy McDonald (Strathroy, Ont./St. Louis, NHL)

Brenden Morrow (Carlyle, Sask./Dallas, NHL)

Rick Nash (Brampton, Ont./Columbus, NHL)

Corey Perry (Peterborough, Ont./Anaheim, NHL)

Michael Richards (Kenora, Ont./Philadelphia, NHL)

Derek Roy (Rockland, Ont./Buffalo, NHL)

Joe Sakic (Burnaby, B.C./Colorado, NHL)

Patrick Sharp (Thunder Bay, Ont./Chicago, NHL)

Ryan Smyth (Banff, Alta./Colorado, NHL)

Martin St-Louis (Laval, Que./Tampa Bay, NHL)

Eric Staal (Thunder Bay, Ont./Carolina, NHL)

Jordan Staal (Thunder Bay, Ont./Pittsburgh, NHL)

Joe Thornton (St. Thomas, Ont./San Jose, NHL)

Jonathan Toews (Winnipeg, Man./Chicago, NHL)

The management group, comprised of executive director Steve Yzerman, Hockey Canada executive vice-president of hockey operations Misley, Hockey Canada president/CEO Bob Nicholson and associate directors Doug Armstrong (Sarnia, Ont./St. Louis, NHL), Ken Holland (Vernon, B.C./Detroit, NHL) and Kevin Lowe (Lachute, Que./Edmonton, NHL), assembled the list in collaboration with the coaching staff comprised of Babcock (Saskatoon, Sask./Detroit, NHL) and associate coaches Jacques Lemaire (LaSalle, Que.), Lindy Ruff (Warburg, Alta./Buffalo, NHL) and Ken Hitchcock (Edmonton, Alta./Columbus, NHL).

Players not invited to the National Men’s Team orientation camp can still be considered for both the 2010 Olympic Winter Games and 2010 IIHF World Championship.


Hockey Canada will host a media conference call on at 11 a.m. ET/9 a.m. MT. On the call, media will be able to ask questions of Canada’s Men’s Olympic Hockey Team executive director Steve Yzerman, Hockey Canada executive vice-president of hockey operations Johnny Misley and head coach Mike Babcock. For media to access the Hockey Canada media conference call:

TIME: 11 a.m. ET

CALL-IN NUMBER: (403) 269-4703

PASSCODE: 16085#


The group of 46 players will be divided into red and white rosters, although these rosters may change during the course of the orientation camp.

All on-ice sessions will be at the Pengrowth Saddledome in Calgary. Further details will be finalized and released at the end of July 2009.

Monday, On-ice sessions in the evening

Tuesday, On-ice sessions in the morning

Wednesday, On-ice sessions in the afternoon

Thursday, On-ice sessions in the morning

Red-White scrimmage at 7 p.m. MT

NOTE - All practices will be closed to the general public, however tickets to the Red-White scrimmage on August 27 are on sale and available to the public.

Tickets to the August 27 Red-White scrimmage can be purchased as part of the Team Canada Hockey Hat Trick which also includes two additional Team Canada games at the Pengrowth Saddledome in Calgary, a Canada vs. United States women’s hockey game on December 15, and a Canada vs. Finland pre-World Junior game on December 22. The Team Canada Hockey Hat Trick ticket package can be purchased at the Pengrowth Saddledome or through Ticketmaster outlets, by phone at (403) 777-000 or online at

NOTE – Members of the media will require accreditation to attend ALL on-ice sessions and have access to interview areas. A media advisory on the media accreditation process will follow in the coming days.

- - -


International experience breakdown

18 players who have represented Canada at the Olympic Winter Games

- 17 players at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Turin, Italy

- 7 players who won gold at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, Utah

- 3 players who represented Canada at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games in Nagano, Japan

Three players who have played in three Olympic Winter Games

Three players who have played in two Olympic Winter Games

42 players who have represented Canada at the IIHF World Championship

- 23 players who have won an IIHF World Championship gold medal with Canada

16 players who helped Canada capture the 2004 World Cup of Hockey

30 players who have represented Canada at the IIHF World Junior Championship

Hockey Canada branch breakdown

8 – Ontario Hockey Federation, Hockey Quebec, Hockey Alberta

7 – BC Hockey

6 – Hockey Northwestern Ontario

4 – Saskatchewan Hockey Association

2 – Ottawa District Hockey Association

1 – Hockey Manitoba, Hockey Nova Scotia, Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador

Last amateur league breakdown

18 – WHL

14 – OHL


6 – Other


11 captains in 2008-09

12 alternate captains in 2008-09

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: NDH 2 – LET 1 (Preliminary)
Mylymok scored both goals, and the Hounds made it four wins in a row.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 6 – BRA 2 (Preliminary)
Doyle had 2G 1A, and the Slash came back to clinch second place.
2018 U18WC: CZE 2 – CAN 1 (Quarter-final)
Dellandrea scored late, but Canada fell one short against the Czechs.
2018 TELUS Cup: TOR 5 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Caines scored three in 4:26 to lead the Nationals to their first win.