image 28f93a86f0fb2a2a88fd973e1ab796a0

2009 RBC Cup Award Winners Announced - Championship Game Set for Sunday

May 9, 2009

VICTORIA, B.C. – The 2009 RBC Cup, Canada's 39th National Junior A Championship, held its awards banquet on Saturday night at the Westin Bear Mounatin in Victoria. The recipients of all six individual awards were announced at the banquet.

The awards were based on the tournament's round-robin, which ran from Saturday to Thursday.

The 2009 RBC Cup award winners are:

Most Valuable Player (Roland Mercier Trophy) – Kyle Bigos – Vernon Vipers

Top Goaltender – Anthony Grieco – Victoria Grizzlies

Top Forward – Connor Jones – Vernon Vipers

Top Defensive Player – Kyle Bigos – Vernon Vipers

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Tubby Smaltz Trophy) – Ryan Santana – Vernon Vipers

In addition, Portage Terriers (Manitoba Junior Hockey League) forward Eric Delong was presented with the 2009 RBC Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year award, which was originally announced on May 5th. In his second season with the Terriers, during which he served as team captain, Delong finished seventh in MJHL scoring with 93 points (46 goals, 47 assists) and was named the league’s Most Valuable Player, along with earning a spot on the MJHL First All-Star Team and receiving the league’s RBC Junior A Scholarship. He also was named Portage’s MVP and Outstanding Team Player, and was named recipient of the Fan Appreciation Award while appearing in the MJHL All-Star Game for the third season in a row.

Kevin Ross of the Alberni Valley Bulldogs (British Columbia Hockey League) was on hand in Victoria to receive the RBC National Junior A Scholarship. Ross was chosen from the 10 finalists – one from each of the Canadian Junior Hockey League's member leagues – to receive the $5,000 scholarship.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarships were also handed out at the awards banquet. Established following the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, AB and contributed to following successful National Junior A Championships in Weyburn, Sask. and Prince George, B.C., these $500 scholarships are awarded to one graduating 20-year-old player from each of the five participating teams.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarship winners are:

Humboldt Broncos – Steve Schroeder

Kingston Voyageurs – Tyler Hill

Summerside Western Capitals – Nathan Snowie

Vernon Vipers – Mike Leidl

Victoria Grizzlies – Anthony Grieco

After five days of round-robin action and Friday’s semifinals, the Vernon Vipers and Humboldt Broncos will go head-to-head on Sunday, May 10 in the championship game of the 2009 RBC Cup. The game can be seen live on TSN2 at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT and will be broadcast on tape delay on the main TSN network at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]



GTG: Global Girls’ Game in St. John’s
40 players gathered for hockey, culture and empowerment.
2019-20 NWT - USA 3 - CAN 1 (Game 4)
Larocque scored, but Canada dropped the final Canadian stop.
2019-20 NWT - CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Game 3)
Bach was the extra-time hero to get Canada its first victory.
NWT: Meeting and greeting in Victoria
Atom players from the CRFMHA got the chance to visit with Team Canada.