Canada's National Women's Team Wins Silver Medal at 2009 IIHF World Women's Championship
April 12, 2009

HÄMEENLINNA, Finland – Canada’s National Women’s Team has won the silver medal at the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship after falling to the United States 4-1 in Sunday’s gold medal game.

Jennifer Botterill (Winnipeg, Man./Mississauga, CWHL) scored the lone goal for Canada, which took home silver from the world championship for the second year in a row. Botterill’s goal tied the game early in the second period before the Americans scored the game’s final three goals.

The game marked the 12th consecutive time Canada and the U.S. met in the gold medal game at the IIHF World Women’s Championship, dating back to the first world championship in 1990. Canada now has three silver medals to go along with its nine world titles.

Canadian captain Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, Sask./Ekilstuna, SWE) was named the tournament’s Top Forward by the IIHF Directorate, while Charline Labonté (Boisbriand, Que./McGill University, CIS) took home Top Goaltender honours. Jenni Hiirikoski of Finland was named Top Defenceman.

Wickenheiser, Botterill and Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL) were named Canada’s Top Three Players.

Canada’s players and staff will return to Canada on Monday, April 13. Following are the flight details for players and staff.


Following are the arrival times for the players and staff at their FINAL destinations. All times listed are local.


Calgary, Alta. / LH0494 / 11:35 a.m.

Hockey Canada executive vice-president, Johnny Misley

Hockey Canada director of female hockey, Julie Healy

Head coach, Melody Davidson

Strength and conditioning coach, Ryan van Asten

Players: Tessa Bonhomme, Gillian Ferrari, Gina Kingsbury, Carla MacLeod, Colleen Sostorics, Hayley Wickenheiser

Montreal, Que. / AC875 / 12:25 p.m.

Assistant coach, Peter Smith

Video coach, Marco Marciano

Players: Charline Labonté, Caroline Ouellette, Kim St-Pierre, Marie-Philip Poulin, Catherine Ward

Edmonton, Alta. / AC8144 / 2:22 p.m.

Players: Meaghan Mikkelson, Shannon Szabados

Toronto, Ont. / LH470 / 4:15 p.m.

Goaltending consultant, Dave Jamieson

Physician, Dr. Patti Galvin

Massage therapist, Domenic Manchisi

Mental training consultant, Dr. Peter Jensen

Players: Gillian Apps, Jennifer Botterill, Jayna Hefford, Becky Kellar

London, Ont. / AC7719 / 8:03 p.m.

Therapist, Doug Stacey

Meghan Agosta, Haley Irwin, Rebecca Johnston, Sarah Vaillancourt and Jennifer Wakefield will be travelling to various cities in the United States. Also, assistant coach Doug Lidster will travel to Detroit.

For more information on media availability, contact Chris Jurewicz at Chris is Hockey Canada’s coordinator of media relations and will be travelling with the Calgary group on Monday, April 13.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.