RBC Insurance Leads Search for Canada's Most Dedicated Hockey Volunteers
January 19, 2009

TORONTO – RBC Insurance, with support from Hockey Canada and the Hockey Hall of Fame, today announced the launch of its annual nationwide search for outstanding hockey volunteers.

“For the past six years the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program has recognized unsung volunteers who dedicate their time to support minor hockey in their communities,” said Neil Skelding, president and CEO of RBC Insurance. “We believe it’s important to recognize these volunteers because without them, hockey simply would not happen.”

Thirteen regional winners, one from each of Hockey Canada’s branches, as well as one RBC employee winner, will receive $10,000 towards a registered charity/hockey cause in their community, a signed Team Canada jersey and trip for two to Toronto, where they will be recognized in the Hockey Hall of Fame. In addition, all winners will receive a Team Spot in the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Torch Relay, which will give them and up to 20 individuals the opportunity to collectively carry the Olympic Flame.

“Through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program, we’re able to acknowledge the efforts of these important Canadians, who are crucial to minor hockey in Canada,” said Bill Hay, chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame. “RBC Insurance is investing in Canadian communities through hockey, and we are happy to be a part of this effort.”

Over the past five years RBC Insurance has awarded more than $600,000 to grassroots hockey activities across Canada through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program. Grants have been used to replace aging equipment, make hockey more accessible, train coaches, improve facilities and for many other causes close to the hearts of Canada’s grassroots hockey leaders.

“We’re asking all Canadians to nominate those tireless hockey volunteers who help make hockey possible in their community,” said Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “These leaders may maintain the rinks, coach teams, organize fundraisers, or teach life skills – all things that make hockey such an important part of community life in Canada.”

A panel including National Women’s Team member Jayna Hefford, National Sledge Team captain Jean Labonté, hockey legend Ron Ellis, Dave Cobb, executive vice-president of revenue, marketing and communications for VANOC and Dr. Allan Morris, chairman of the board of Hockey Canada will select winners from nominations submitted through the program website. Nominations will be accepted until midnight EDT on . To nominate a dedicated minor hockey volunteer from your area, go to www.rbcinsurance.com.

RBC Local Hockey Leaders are the behind-the-scenes volunteers who make hockey a positive, safe, and enjoyable activity in their communities. Hard work, dependability, enthusiasm and leadership will be amongst the criteria considered when evaluating submissions.

For further information, please contact:

Brian Findlay or Bob Stellick, 416-603-9452

Andre Brin, Hockey Canada communications, 403-777-4557

Jackie Braden, media relations, RBC, 416-974-2124

Kelly Masse, Hockey Hall of Fame, 416-933-8212

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.