100 Days Until The 2008 IIHF World Championship Begins!
January 23, 2008

Wednesday marks the start of the 100-day countdown to the first puck drop at the 2008 IIHF World Championship, one of the biggest hockey events to ever hit Canada.

From May 2nd to 18th, 16 hockey nations will converge on Halifax, NS and Quebec City, QC, vying to become the first world champion ever crowned on Canadian soil.

To mark the 100-day occasion, the International Ice Hockey Federation has unveiled the retro-look medals that will be awarded on May 18th at Le Colisée Pepsi in Quebec City.

The heads side portrays an old image of a goaltender, wearing a cap, doing a poke check. This image was used on IIHF World Championship medals from 19 and again from 19. The back side depicts the IIHF 100 Year Anniversary logo.

The IIHF also announced on Wednesday that the 2008 IIHF World Championship will be the first to use a four-man officiating system.

After a 74-game test run, including 31 games at the recent IIHF World Junior Championship in the Czech Republic, the IIHF has decided to use a four-official system for their flagship event.

“Our officials responded very well to the challenge and it became very clear that the referee committee would recommend to the council to stay with the four-man system also for Canada 2008,” said Konstantin Komissarov, the IIHF’s manager of officiating.

The list of 16 referees and linesmen include four Canadians – referees Guy Pellerin (Dieppe, NB) and Chris Savage (Medicine Hat, AB) and linesmen Sylvain Losier (Greenfield Park, QC) and Chris De Haan (Abbotsford, BC).

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.