Canada Wins Silver Medal at 2008 IIHF World Women's Championship
Players and Staff Will Return to Canada on Monday, April 14th
April 12, 2008

HARBIN, CHINA – Canada’s National Women’s Team has won the silver medal at the 2008 IIHF World Women’s Championship after falling to the USA 4-3 in the gold medal game on Saturday at Baqu Arena.

Sarah Vaillancourt (Sherbrooke, QC) scored early, but Canada found itself in a 4-1 deficit heading to the third period after four unanswered USA goals. Katie Weatherston (Thunder Bay, ON) and Jennifer Botterill (Winnipeg, MB) scored goals in the final period for Canada, but it came up one goal short in the end.

This marked the 11th straight time that Canada and the USA met in the gold medal game of the IIHF World Women’s Championship, dating back to the first tournament in 1990. Canada has now won two silver medals to go along with their nine gold medals.

Canadian captain Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, SK) and forward Jayna Hefford (Kingston, ON) were named to the Media All-Star Team, but Canada was shut out of the IIHF Directorate awards for the first time at an IIHF World Women’s Championship.

Finland goaltender Noora Raty was named Top Goaltender and Most Valuable Player, while the USA won two awards – Top Defenceman, given to Angela Ruggiero, and Top Forward, given to captain Natalie Darwitz.

Canada’s players and staff have been together since March 24th, when they met in Victoria, BC. The team held a pre-tournament camp in Colwood, BC from March 25th to 30th before departing for China.



Canada’s players and staff will arrive at Vancouver International Airport at 12:30 p.m. PST on Monday, April 14th, 2008. Head coach Peter Smith and players are available for interviews shortly after landing and clearing customs.

Following are the arrival times for the players and staff at their final destinations.
NOTE: All times listed are local times.


Calgary, AB / AC214 / 4:20 p.m.
Hockey Canada director of female hockey, Julie Healy
National Women’s Team general manager, Melody Davidson

Edmonton, AB / AC240 / 5:05 p.m.
Meaghan Mikkelson, Shannon Szabados

Calgary, AB / AC8318 / 5:52 p.m.
Kelly Bechard, Delaney Collins, Gillian Ferrari, Gina Kingsbury, Carla MacLeod, Caroline Ouellette, Colleen Sostorics, Sarah Vaillancourt, Hayley Wickenheiser

Montreal, QC / AC112 / 10:10 p.m.
Head coach Peter Smith
Charline Labonté, Kim St-Pierre

Toronto, ON / AC100 / 10:58 p.m.
Meghan Agosta, Gillian Apps, Jennifer Botterill, Valerie Chouinard, Jayna Hefford, Rebecca Johnston, Becky Kellar, Cherie Piper

Ottawa, ON / AC138 / 11:05 p.m.
Katie Weatherston


Halifax, NS / AC256 / 3:55 p.m.
Assistant coach Lisa Jordan

Any media requests can be sent to Chris Jurewicz For more information on Canada’s National Women’s Team and the 2008 IIHF World Women’s

The 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship will be held April 5-12, 2009 in Hameenlinna and Vantaa, Finland.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.