Hockey Canada Announces 2008 RBC Junior A Scholarship Winners
April 4, 2008

CALGARY, AB – Hockey Canada announced on Friday the 2008 RBC Junior A Scholarship winners. These annual scholarship awards provide financial assistance to players of the Canadian Junior A Hockey League (CJAHL) for post-secondary education at Canadian colleges and universities.

The 2008 RBC Junior A Scholarship recipients, one from each of the CJAHL’s ten leagues, receive $1,000 toward post-secondary education, with one national winner receiving $5,000. The winner of the national RBC Junior A Scholarship was selected from a list of finalists by a national panel of Hockey Canada appointed junior hockey representatives.

2008 RBC Junior A Scholarship winners:

Alberta Junior Hockey League – Scott Kenway – Olds Grizzlys
British Columbia Hockey League – Kevin Tipper – Burnaby Express
Central Junior Hockey League – Patrick Millette – Pembroke Lumber Kings
Manitoba Junior Hockey League – Gavin McHale – Portage Terriers
Maritime Junior A Hockey League – Travis McCarron – Antigonish Bulldogs
Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League – Tyler Hummel – North Bay Skyhawks
Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League – Riley Brand – Newmarket Hurricanes
Quebec Junior AAA Hockey League – Danny Mireault – Action de Joliette
Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League – Taylor Watt – Melfort Mustangs
Superior International Junior Hockey League – Graeme Harrington – Dryden Ice Dogs

The recipient of the $5,000 national RBC Junior A Scholarship is Danny Mireault – Action de Joliette. Mireault will be presented with his national scholarship award at the 2008 RBC Cup, which takes place May 3rd to 11th in Cornwall, ON.

“RBC is very proud to support the Junior A Scholarship program,” said Mike Haley, regional vice-president of RBC. “The program was designed to provide an opportunity for Junior A players to apply for a scholarship based on their outstanding academic accomplishments and extraordinary community service. We are continuously pleased by the strong applicants that we receive from across the country on an annual basis. RBC is pleased to be a part of this important initiative for the past several years, and look forward to continuing to assist in the development of Canadian athletes through these programs.”

Players eligible for the RBC Junior A Scholarships must be a Canadian citizen, on a Canadian Junior A team roster, and registered or applying for full-time post-secondary studies. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, hockey achievement, and community involvement.

All Junior A hockey players in Canada who currently attend a Canadian post-secondary institution are also eligible for the Nickerson Family Awards, which are made possible through the Friends of the RBC Society in Fort McMurray, AB. Travis McCarron of the Antigonish Bulldogs is the $1,000 winner, and Graeme Harrington of the Dryden Ice Dogs is the $500 winner.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.