Team Canada's Roster Announced for 2008 IIHF World Women's Hockey Championship
March 4, 2008

CALGARY, AB – A roster of 20 players, plus two alternates, will head to Harbin, China in defence of Canada’s championship at the IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship from April 4-12, 2008.

Hockey Canada announced Canada’s National Women’s Team on Tuesday, at press conferences in Montreal, Toronto and Calgary. The roster includes two goaltenders, six defencemen and 12 forwards. National Women’s Team head coach Peter Smith, along with general manager Melody Davidson, also announced two alternates (goaltender Shannon Szabados and forward Valerie Chouinard) who will make the trip with the team.

» Team Canada Roster

Team Canada’s roster, including alternates, is made up of the following:

  • 17 members of the National Women’s Team that won gold at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship
  • 9 players from the Western Women’s Hockey League
  • 7 players from the Canadian Women’s Hockey League
  • 4 players from U.S. College
  • 1 player from Canadian Interuniversity Sport
  • 1 player from the Alberta Colleges Athletic Association

Canada is the defending champion at the IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship, having won the 2007 event that was held in Selkirk and Winnipeg, MB.

Canada’s roster was selected based on events throughout the 2007-08 season. Team Canada’s coaching and scouting staff evaluated players at the National Women’s Team Fall Festival in September in Prince George, BC, at the 2007 4 Nations Cup in November in Leksand, Sweden, and at the January evaluation camp in Calgary, AB. In addition to evaluating players at these Team Canada events, coaches and scouts also followed players with their respective club teams.

“As a staff, we are excited about the group of players that we have assembled,” says Smith. “Each of these players should be proud to be named to Team Canada. We had many tough decisions to make but we’re confident that we have the right group to win the world championship.”

Canada will open the IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship on April 4th against Russia.

Canada’s roster includes two players, Meghan Mikkelson (St. Albert, AB/Edmonton, WWHL) and Rebecca Johnston (Sudbury, ON/Cornell, ECAC), who will be playing in their first World Women’s Championship. (NOTE: Johnston was an alternate at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship). Alternate players Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, AB/Grant MacEwan, ACAC) and Valerie Chouinard (Matane, QC/Mercyhurst, CHA) will also be attending their first World Women’s Championship.

NOTE: Defenceman Cheryl Pounder (Misissauga, ON), who has played in seven World Women’s Championships including the 2007 tournament, took the 2007-08 season to start her family.

TSN/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters, will televise three games at the 2008 IIHF World Women’s Hockey Championship, including the gold medal final on April 12. Check local listings for game times.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017-18 NWT: CAN 9 – AIR 1 (Exhibition)
Saulnier and Johnston had 2G each to help Canada win its Esso opener.
2017-18 NWT: NOR 4 – CAN 0 (Icebreaker)
Lacasse made 22 saves, but Canada was blanked in the tournament final.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 3 – ROY 1 (Icebreaker)
Poulin scored twice in the third period to send Canada to the win.
2017-18 NWT: CAN 4 – FLA 1 (Icebreaker)
Saulnier got the GWG to lead Canada to its first Icebreaker victory.