Alberta (Calgary Oval X-treme) Wins 2007 Esso Women's National Championship
March 10, 2007

SALMON ARM, BC – Team Alberta, represented by the Calgary Oval X-Treme of the Western Women’s Hockey League, won the 2007 Esso Women’s National Championship with a 3-0 victory over the Etobicoke Dolphins (Ontario 2) of the National Women’s Hockey League on Saturday at the Sunwave Centre.

Gold Medal Winners - Calgary Oval X-Treme -

Photo Credit: Hockey Canada/Jeff Vinnick

The X-Treme’s triumph on Saturday gives Alberta its first gold medal at the Esso Nationals since the 2003 in Saskatoon and now gives Alberta eight gold medals all-time at the Esso Nationals, tying that province with Quebec for second in all-time championship wins. Ontario leads in overall gold medals with 10.

The gold medal game on Saturday afternoon was played before a large crowd at the Sunwave Centre and was shown live on TSN and RDS coast to coast. After a scoreless first period, Gina Kingsbury (Rouyn-Noranda, QC) gave Alberta a 1-0 lead on a power-play goal, with assists to Kaley Hall (Calgary, AB) and Delaney Collins (Pilot Mound, MB). Alberta added to its lead in the third period, when Kingsbury set up Collins to make it 2-0. Danielle Goyette (St-Nazaire, QC) scored Alberta’s third goal at 13:06 from Meagan Walton (Calgary, AB) and Correne Bredin (Warburg, AB).

Desirae Clark (Salmo, BC), the top goaltender in Pool A, was solid in net for the fourth straight game for Ontario 2 (Etobicoke). Alberta outshot their gold medal opponents 50-25, including 21-3 in the first period. Alberta’s Amanda Tapp (Calgary, AB) made 25 saves for the shutout.

In the bronze medal game on Saturday morning, Ontario 1 (Mississagua Aeros) and Nova Scotia were tied 1-1 after the first period before Ontario 1 exploded for 12 goals over the final two periods for a 13-3 victory. Heather Logan (Madoc, ON) scored five goals to lead Ontario 1 and Haley Irwin (Thunder Bay, ON) and Jennifer Botterill (Winnipeg, MB) each netted a pair of goals in the victory. Kori Cheverier (New Glasgow, NS) scored twice for Nova Scotia, which trailed 6-3 after two periods.

The Esso Women’s National Championship is Canada’s senior female hockey championship and had its start in 1982. This year’s event included nine teams from across the country and some of the top players in the nation competed, including Hayley Wickenheiser, Goyette and Gillian Ferrari. Many of these players will take part at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship in Winnipeg and Selkirk, Manitoba – April 3-10th, 2007. Tickets still available at all Ticketmaster outlets and online at

For complete results of all games at the 2007 Esso Women’s Nationals, visit Hockey Canada’s website at

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 8 – MBP 0 (Preliminary)
Verbitsky and Meropoulis led the way with 2G each in a big Slash win.