Hockey Canada's 2007 National Award Winners Announced Al Hubbs of Indian Head, SK Named Volunteer of The Year
May 20, 2007

WINNIPEG – Volunteers are as important to the game of hockey as players, coaches and parents so it was with pride that Hockey Canada announced its award winners for the 2006-07 season at its Annual General Meeting on Sunday night in Winnipeg.

Nominees were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s Officers of the Board, or the appropriate Hockey Canada council.

The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depend heavily on volunteers so it’s important for Hockey Canada and its member branches to recognize these individuals.

Hazel McCallion, Ontario Hockey Federation

Female breakthrough (promotion, Mississauga, ON contribution to female hockey)

George Kingston, Hockey Alberta

Gordon Juckes (contribution to Calgary, AB development of hockey)

Ken Miller, Ontario Hockey Federation Official of the Year North Bay, ON

Andre Marsolais, Hockey Quebec

Order of Merit (Central) Charlemagne, QC

Wayne MacDougall, Hockey PEI

Order of Merit (Eastern) Charlottetown, PEI

Tom Coleman, Saskatchewan Hockey Association

Order of Merit (Western) Quill Lake, SK

Al Hubbs, Saskatchewan Hockey Association

Volunteer of the Year Indian Head, SK

Johanne Poitras-Brien,

Hal Lewis Award (Hockey Greenfield Park, QC Canada staff person of the year)

Mim Hornell,

Liz McKinnon Award (Spousal award Grand Falls-Windsor, NL of a Hockey Canada volunteer)

In addition to the awards, the Canadian Hockey Foundation was pleased to announce the establishment of a fund which will provide support to underprivileged youth. The fund was announced in conjunction with George Kingston winning the Gordon Juckes Award.

One player selected by Kingston’s branch (Hockey Alberta) will be the beneficiary of a Hockey Canada equipment package and full registration in the minor hockey association of his/her choice.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.