Hayley Wickenheiser Named Canada's Captain for 2007 IIHF World Women's Championship Ouellette and Sunohara to Serve As Alternate Captains
March 31, 2007

SELKIRK, MB – Team Canada General Manager and Head Coach Melody Davidson announced on Saturday that Hayley Wickenheiser (Shaunavon, SK/ Calgary, WWHL), a member of Canada’s National Women’s Team since 1994 and Canada’s all-time leader in scoring, will be Canada’s team captain for the upcoming 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship.

Davidson also announced that Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, QC/ Minnesota, WWHL) and Vicky Sunohara (Scarborough, ON/ Brampton, NWHL) will serve as alternate captains.

Wickenheiser is Canada’s 6th captain all-time, taking over for Cassie Campbell who retired in August 2006 after serving as team captain for four seasons, including two Olympic Games (20). Wickenheiser has served as Canada’s captain during the 2006-07 season at the 2006 4 Nations Cup, which Canada won in Kitchener, Ont. in November 2006.

“This is a great time for Hayley to take on a more rounded leadership role on Team Canada,” said Davidson. “In her thirteen years in the program, Hayley has been able to learn from the likes of St-Louis, Wilson, Brisson and Campbell. By combining Hayley, Caroline, Vicky and the veteran leadership that we have in the dressing room, we are confident that we have the leadership to set a high standard of play.”

Canada’s all-time captains at World Championships and Olympic Games

2007 Hayley Wickenheiser

2001-2006 Cassie Campbell

1999-2000 Therese Brisson

1994-1998 Stacy Wilson

1992 France St-Louis

1990 Sue Scherer

Wickenheiser, Ouellette and Sunohara will be in action along with Team Canada in Canada’s final pre-competition game prior to the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship. Canada faces Finland on Saturday, March 31st in Selkirk, MB. Canada will open the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship on April 3rd in Winnipeg vs. Switzerland.

NOTE TO MEDIA : All media requests for Team Canada members prior to and during the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship can be directed to Andre Brin, the team’s media relations manager, (403) 540-8444 | abrin@hockeycanada.ca who will be on-site with team.

The 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship takes place April 3-10 in Winnipeg and Selkirk, Manitoba. Tickets are still available at all Ticketmaster outlets, online at www.ticketmaster.ca/iihf or by calling (204) 780-3333.

TSN/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters, will begin its coverage of Canada’s games at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship on Saturday, April 7th (check local listings)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: NDH 4 – MAG 2 (Preliminary)
Renwick had 1G 1A, Plucinski got the GWG and the Hounds won again.
2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.