Yorkton Terriers: Anavet Cup Champions Korchinski Named M-V-P of Anavet Cup
April 28, 2006

Chris KorchinskiThe Yorkton Terriers of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL) became the first team to qualify for the RBC Royal Bank Cup.  The Terriers defeated the Winnipeg South Blues 5-3 on Thursday night taking the seven game series 4-1 en route to being crowned ANAVET CUP Champions.  Chris Korchinski was named Anavet Cup MVP as he notched 11 points (5 goals, 6 assists) in the five games.  Yorkton joins the host team Streetsville Derbys in awaiting the results of the Dudley Hewitt Cup, the Doyle Cup and the Fred Page Cup.

Yorkton Terrier centreman Chris Korchinski has been named the Most Valuable Player of the ANAVET Cup series. Korchinski lit up the Winnipeg South Blues with 5-goals and 6-assists during the five game series to lead all scorers.  His best performance came during what materialized as a single man dismantling during game two in which Korchinski scored two shorthanded breakaway goals and also added a pair of assists.  A native of Rama SK, Korchinski will be attending Northeastern University NCAA Division I in the Fall.

He is the 2005-06 SJHL scoring champion and the 2004-05 SJHL Player of the Year. Korchinski finished the SJHL playoffs (not including ANAVET series) with 23-points, second only to Terrier defenseman Dustin Nehring. Other players that deserved consideration for the ANAVET MVP were Yorkton goalie Brett Bothwell, and Terrier forward Chad Nehring. Yorkton advances to the RBC Royal Bank Cup, which will be played May 6th - May 14th in Streetsville ON.  The SJHL's Weyburn Red Wings won the event last year, while the Kindersley Klippers finished as runners-up in the 2004 tournament. Humboldt won the national championship in 2003, while Flin Flon lost in the finals of 2001.  Therefore, the Terriers have an opportunity to lead the SJHL into its fourth straight gold medal game and fifth in the last six years.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
2017 OHC: 2017 recipients honoured at HCF gala
2017 OHC recipients honoured at HCF gala