Forty-Four of Canada's Top Junior Aged Players Invited to Attend National Junior Team Development Camp From July 22-28 in Calgary, AB
June 22, 2006

CALGARY, AB – Hockey Canada, in collaboration with the Canadian Hockey League, announced on Thursday that forty-four of Canada’s top junior aged players (born in 1987 or later) have been invited to attend Canada’s National Junior Team Development Camp from July 23-28, 2006 in Calgary, AB. 

The National Junior Team Development Camp is the first step in a process that Hockey Canada follows to name Canada’s National Junior Team roster in December.  Following this July camp, Hockey Canada’s Men’s National Teams Program will continue to monitor and evaluate these players and other eligible players in the Canadian Hockey League, as well as in the junior and college ranks in Canada and the U.S.A.

In late November or early December, Hockey Canada will invite a shorter list of players to the National Junior Team Selection Camp which takes place in mid-December.  During the December Selection Camp, the coaching staff will select the 22 players that will represent Canada at the 2007 IIHF World Junior Championship. 

The players invited to the July 2006 National Junior Team Development Camp were identified, evaluated and selected based on evaluation reports conducted during the 2005-06 season based on performances on Under-17, Under-18 and National Junior teams at 2005-06 events, with input from the coaches on Canada’s 2006-07 National Junior and National Under-18 teams and a network of Canadian Hockey League contacts as identified by Canada’s National Junior Team Policy Committee.

Canada’s National Junior Team Development Camp in July will be under the direction of Head Coach Craig Hartsburg (Stratford, ON/ Sault Ste. Marie, OHL) and assistant coaches Curtis Hunt (North Battleford, SK/ Regina, WHL) and Clément Jodoin (St-Césaire, QC/ Lewiston, QMJHL).  The camp will be held July 23-28 in Calgary, AB at the Father David Bauer Arena, including intersquad games on July 26th, 27th and 28th. 

The Development Camp roster features 12 players that captured gold with Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2006 IIHF World Junior Championship: Five (5) defencemen:  Luc Bourdon (Shippagan, NB/ Moncton, QMJHL), Kristopher Letang (Montreal, QC/ Val d’Or, QMJHL), Ryan Parent (Sioux Lookout, ON/ Guelph, OHL), Kris Russell (Carolina, AB/ Medicine Hat, WHL), Marc Staal (Thunder Bay, ON/ Sudbury, OHL); Seven (7) forwards: Daniel Bertram (Calgary, AB/  Boston College, Hockey East), Andrew Cogliano (Woodbridge, ON/ University of Michigan, CCHA), Steve Downie (Queensville, ON/ Peterborough, OHL), Guillaume Latendresse (Ste-Catherine, QC/ Drummondville, QMJHL), Ryan O’Marra (Mississauga, ON/ Erie, OHL), Tom Pyatt (Thunder Bay, ON/Saginaw Spirit, OHL) and Jonathan Toews (Winnipeg, MB/ University of North Dakota, WCHA).

National Junior Team Development Camp roster information

League breakdown

  • 15 players from the Ontario Hockey League;
  • 15 players from the Western Hockey League;
  • 11 players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League;
  • 3 players from the U.S. College ranks;

Hockey Canada Program of Excellence Experience

  • 12 players who were members of Canada’s National Junior Team which won gold at the 2006 IIHF World Junior Championship;
  • 14 players from the 2004 National Summer Under-18 Team which won the 2004 Junior World Cup;
  • 13 players from the 2005 National Summer Under-18 Team which won the 2005 Junior World Cup;
  • 13 players from the 2005 National World Championship Under-18 Team which won a silver medal at the 2005 IIHF World Under-18 Championship (Patrick McNeill is not included in this number, as he was named to the team but could not play due to injury);
  • 5 players from the 2006 National World Championship Under-18 Team which finished fourth at the 2006 IIHF World Under-18 Championship;
  • 35 players that have been part of Hockey Canada’s Regional Under-17 Program;
  • Three (3) players will be taking part in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence for the first time (Cody Franson, Darren Helm, Chris Stewart)

Age breakdown

  • 29 players born in 1987
  • 15 players born in 1988

NHL Draft breakdown

  • 26 players drafted in the 2005 NHL Entry Draft;
    • 10 first round picks, 6 second round picks and 5 third round picks at the 2005 NHL Entry Draft;
  • 14 eligible players for the 2006 NHL Entry Draft;
  • 3 eligible players for the 2007 NHL Entry Draft;

All forty-four players named on Wednesday are products of Canada’s minor hockey system and come from nine of Hockey Canada’s 13 Provincial and Regional Branches:

  • 10 players from Ontario Hockey Federation     
  • 8 players from Hockey Quebec
  • 8 players from B.C. Hockey
  • 6 players from Hockey Alberta
  • 4 players from Hockey Northwestern Ontario
  • 3 players from Hockey Manitoba
  • 2 players from Hockey Nova Scotia
  • 1 player from Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador
  • 1 player from Hockey New Brunswick
  • 1 player from the Ottawa District Hockey Association

The 2007 IIHF World Junior Championship will take place in Leksand and Mora, Sweden, starting on December 26th, and running through .  Canada is the two-time defending World Junior Champions, after wins in 2005 in Grand Forks, North Dakota and in 2006, in Vancouver, British Columbia.

For more information on Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, and the National Junior Team, visit Hockey Canada’s official website

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 4 – STA 1 (Preliminary)
The Stars scored four unanswered to keep their perfect record intact.