2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup Award Winners
May 12, 2006

Brampton, ON – Hockey Canada and the organizing committee for the 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup held its annual awards banquet on Friday night where the tournament award winners and the 2006 RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior A Player of the Year and Scholarship winners were announced.

The recipient of the $5000 RBC Financial Group National Junior ‘A’ Scholarship Award was

T.J. Sutter of the Nipawan Hawks (Saskatchewan Junior A Hockey League ).

Jordan Knox of the Summerside Western Capitals (Maritime Junior A Hockey League) was named the 2006 RBC Financial Group Canadian CJAHL Player of the Year. The RBC Financial Group Canadian CJAHL Player of the Year Award goes to the Canadian Junior "A" hockey player who has best combined hockey skills and achievement with community involvement during the 2005-06 season.

JORDAN KNOX – RBC Financial Group Canadian CJAHL Player of the Year

Knox was a two time Player of the Week of the MJAHL (December 27, November 7) and led his team in Goals (54) and ranked second in points (103). Knox was a member of the Cornwall Thunder who were the East representatives at the 2003 National Midget Championship, now the TELUS Cup in Kenora, ON. Knox, a native of Skinner’s Pond PEI, was the Capitals first round (fourth overall) pick in the 2004 MJAHL Midget draft. A product of the Cornwall Thunder Midget program is currently taking courses at UPEI with the hope of obtaining a NCAA scholarship in the future.

2005-06 | GP 56 | G 54 | A 49 | PTS 103 / PLAYOFFS | GP 11 | G 8 | A 9 | PTS 17

In addition to the RBC Financial Group Scholarship and Player of the Year awards, six individual 2006 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards and the Grand Priairie Legacy Scholarships were handed out at the awards ceremony.

Winners were as follows:

Most Valuable Player (Roland Mercier Trophy) –  David Wilson (Streetsville Derbys)

Top Scorer – Dennis Morrison (Fort William North Stars)

Top Forward – Chris Korchinski (Yorkton Terriers)

Top Defencemen – Peter Merth (Burnaby Express)

Top Goaltender – David Wilson (Streetsville Derbys)

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Tubby Smaltz Trophy) – Mark Soares (Burnaby Express)

2004 Grand Prairie Legacy Scholarships

Streetsville Derbys – Phil Gianfrancesco

Fort William North Stars - Carter Hutton

Yorkton Terriers – Brett McRuvie

Burnaby Express - Mark Soares - Burnaby

Action de Joliette – Alexandre Lamarche

RBC Financial Group Canadian CJAHL Player of the Year Nominations

BCHL –             TJ Miller (Penticton Vees)

AJHL –             Mark Letestu (Bonnyville Pontiacs)

SJHL –             Russel Monette (Weyburn Red Wings)

MJHL –             Tyler Czuba (Swan Valley Stampeders)

NOJHL –           No Nominee

SIJHL –            Kory McEwan (Fort William North Stars)

OPJHL –           Matt Beca (Oakville Blades)

CJHL –             No Nominee

LHJAAAQ –      Jonathan Dick (Action de Joliette)

MJAHL –          Jordan Knox (MJAHL)

Scholarship Winners

First Place

TJ Sutter (Nipiwin Hawks) ($5,000 National Scholarship Recipient)


Second Place

Jeff Heringer (K&A Golden Hawks) ($1,000 Nickerson Family Award Recipient)


Third Place

Jean Christophe Robitaille (St. Jerome Pantheres) ($500 Nickerson Family Award Recipient)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 4NC: CAN 1 – USA 5 (Gold medal game)
Meghan Agosta cut the lead in half, but USA overcame Canada 5-1.
2017 U17: CZE 2 – CAN-W 1 (Bronze)
Toman and Teply scored the goals to give the Czechs the bronze medal.
2017 U17: USA 6 – CAN-R 4 (Gold Medal)
Hughes had four points to lead the U.S. to its fifth U17 gold medal.
2017 U17: RUS 5 – FIN 4 (5th Place)
Ilya Safonov and Egor Afansyev had a goal and an assist each, and the Russians earned fifth place.