Road to The 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup
April 21, 2005

Offence boosts Truro to first championship

Monday 18-04-2005

The Truro, N. S., Bearcats discovered some offensive spark when they needed it most.

Truro averaged 4.6 goals per game in the best-of-seven Maritime Junior 'A' Hockey League final after tying for ninth in goals scored in the 12-team league during the regular schedule.

The Bearcats defeated the defending champion Campbellton, N. B., Tigers 4-1 for their first league championship and qualified for the Fred Page Cup championship April 27-May 1 in Yarmouth, N. S.

Unfinished business gives Portage incentive

Saturday 16-04-2005

The Portage Terriers are thinking in terms of unfinished business as they prepare for the ANAVET Cup after a nine-day break.

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League champions would like to take another huge step, in a best-of-seven series against the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League champions, to reach the RBC Royal Bank Cup national junior A championship.

"Hopefully our team isn't satisfied," said Portage general manager/coach Don MacGillivray.

He had an opportunity to evaluate the SJHL finalists, the Yorkton Terriers and Battlefords North Stars, in North Battleford after Portage defeated the Selkirk Steelers 4-2 in a best-of-seven league final.

"Either one will be a tough opponent," said MacGillivray.

The ANAVET Cup will open April 22-23 in Portage la Prairie.

Camrose Comes Back from 3-1 down in the Series to Beat Ft. McMurry in Game 7 of AJHL Final

CAMROSE - The Camrose Kodiaks have won their third Alberta Junior Hockey League championship in five years.

Camrose rebounded from a 3-1 series deficit to defeat the Fort McMurray Oil Barons 4-2 in the deciding game of the best-of-seven league final tonight.

 Veteran Chance Olsen had two goals in Camrose's win before 1,930 fans. Olsen led league playoff scorers with 22 points, including 11 goals, in 15 games.

Jason Roberts and MacGregor Sharp also scored for Camrose, which led 2-1 after the first period and 3-2 after the second period.  Olsen's second goal with 16:25 remaining completed the scoring.

Camrose will play the British Columbia Hockey League champion Surrey Eagles in the best-of-seven Doyle Cup beginning April 22-23 in Surrey.

The Kodiaks were the 20 AJHL and Doyle Cup Champions.  They also won the RBC Royal Bank Cup National Junior 'A' championship in 2001 in Flin Flon, Man, and were finalists at the 2003 Royal Bank Cup in Charlottetown, P. E. I.

The Doyle Cup champion will qualify for the Royal Bank Cup championship tournament May 7-15 in Weyburn, Sask. 

Surrey Wins Fred Page Cup

The Surrey Eagles are the 2005 BCHL Champions after capturing the Fred Page Cup with a 5-1 win over the Vernon Vipers in Game 5 Sunday night in South Surrey.

Tyler Eckford  scored once and added two assists to pace the Eagles in game 5 and was named the game's 2nd star.  David Rutherford scored twice - the first and last goals of the night to cap off a great play-off.

The Eagles will now host the winner of the AJHL Champions in the best of 7 Doyle Cup Championship beginning Friday night in Surrey.  Games 1 and 2 will go Friday and Saturday - a 3rd game would be played in Surrey Sunday if the teams split the first 2 games.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.
2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.