Canada's National Men's Team Wins Deutschland Cup
November 13, 2005

HANNOVER, GERMANY – Canada’s National Men’s Team won the Deutschland Cup on Sunday, finishing on top of the round robin event with eight points, after a 4-1 win over Germany.

Canada needed help from Team USA in the final game of the event, to secure its first Deutschland Cup since 2002. USA defeated Slovakia 3-2, and that result left Canada in first place with eight points, followed by Switzerland (7), USA (6), Slovakia (6) and Germany (3).

For the USA/Slovakia game on Sunday night to mean anything for Canada, Canada’s National Men’s Team, under the direction of Head Coach Marc Habscheid,had to win its final game against the host team from Germany on Sunday afternoon.

Chris Herperger (Esterhazy, SK) scored a powerplay goal to open the scoring and added a second into an empty net to lead Canada to the 4-1 victory.  Jeff Maund (Mississauga, ON) played in his fourth consecutive game and was again very solid in the Canadian net.  Maund allowed only one goal in each ofCanada’s three victories.  Micki Dupont (Calgary, AB) was a force on Canada's back end, scoring a goal and playing a huge role in killing off numerous German powerplays.  Dupont was named Canada's player of the game.  Dan Lambert (St-Malo, MB) scored Canada’s other goal.  Stefan Ustorf replied for Germany.

The Deutschland Cup is a round robin format with 3 points awarded for a victory in regulation time, 2 points for an overtime or shootout win and 1 point awarded to the losing team in overtime or a shootout.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
2017 OHC: 2017 recipients honoured at HCF gala
2017 OHC recipients honoured at HCF gala