Sydney, NS Looking Ahead to The 2006 Esso Women's Nationals; Ticket Packages Now on Sale
November 4, 2005

CALGARY, AB – After hosting a successful Esso Women’s National Championship back in 2000, the organizing committee in Sydney, NS is looking forward to again hosting the Esso Women’s National Championship, March 8-12, 2006. Sydney will welcome some of the nation’s best female hockey players at this event in March as they compete for the Abby Hoffman Cup.

The Esso Women’s National Championship was established in 1982 and is Canada’s Senior Women’s National Championship. The 2006 event marks the 25th anniversary of Canada’s National Women’s Championship and marks the 70th anniversary of Esso’s long standing commitment to the sport of hockey in Canada.  Nine of Hockey Canada’s Branches from across Canada will send a representative Senior Women’s Hockey Team to the event, featuring some of the top senior female players from across Canada. 

“Since hosting a very successful Esso Women's National Championship in 2000, the host committee has waited in anticipation for the opportunity to host this event again and the time is now here.  The 2006 Esso Women's Nationals will be a huge boost to the economy in our area, and we are thrilled to have been chosen to host it again, especially in its 25th year" said Bev Patterson, Co-Chair of the 2006 Esso Women’s Nationals in Sydney.  “This event will give us the opportunity to again showcase our great Cape Breton hospitality and leave a Female hockey legacy behind. There will be an information booth at the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles game Friday evening and many events leading up to the tournament in March.”

The event will be played with a seeded pool system based on the previous year’s finish.  The “A” pool will feature Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia, Alberta and New Brunswick.   The “B” Pool will feature Manitoba and three Atlantic teams; Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Nova Scotia (host team).

Each pool will feature round robin play starting March 8 and running through to March 12.   The quarterfinals will be held on Friday March 10th and the semi-finals will take place on Saturday March 11.    The gold medal game will be nationally televised nationally on the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada: TSN/RDS, on Sunday, .

“Imperial Oil and the Esso brand have a long history of supporting hockey in Canada and 2006 will mark a milestone celebration of 70 years of our hockey sponsorship.  As a premier sponsor of Hockey Canada and amateur hockey for more than 20 years, Imperial Oil is proud to play a major role in supporting the growth and development of women's hockey in Canada and to make events such as the Esso Women's National Hockey Championship possible” said Karen Fraser, Marketing Sponsorship Manager for Imperial Oil.


Tournament passes that include all round-robin and medal games for the 2006 Esso Women's National Championship are now on sale for $70.00.  Everyone who purchases a tournament pass will receive a complimentary event souvenir program and will be eligible for prize draws.  Cape Breton Female Hockey Development and the Allan Joseph Memorial Scholarship fund will benefit from proceeds of the tournament.  Tickets are available for purchase in person at the Centre 200 Box Office or by calling (902) 564-6668.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 U17: BLU 6 – RED 1 (Game 1)
Aidan Prueter scored twice and added an assist, Joe Caroll had a goal and two helpers and Blue pulled away in the final 18 minutes to open Canada’s national under-17 development camp with a convincing victory over Red.
2017 U17: WHT 3 – GRN 2 SO (Game 2)
Graeme Clarke scored the lone goal in the shootout, Taylor Gauthier turned away all five shooters he faced, and White erased an early deficit to edge Green in extra time at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 U17: GLD 2 – BLK 1 (Game 3)
Jonathan Lemieux and Ethan Fitzgerald combined for 29 saves and Logan Chisholm scored both goals, helping Gold edge Black 2-1 to finish the first day of games at Canada’s national under-17 development camp.
2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey