Salmon Arm, BC to Host National Women's Under-18 Hockey Championship November 9-13, 2005
August 11, 2005

CALGARY, AB – After successfully hosting the 2005 Under 18 Women’s Hockey Challenge last January, Hockey Canada announced on Thursday that the City of Salmon Arm, BC will host the newly titled 2005 National Women’s Under 18 Hockey Championship for the second straight year from November 9-13, 2005.

In an attempt to top last year’s total attendance of 16,393 over the 18 game event, the host committee is offering a special Tournament Pass that will include one ticket to each game at the event plus one ticket to a Team Canada World Junior exhibition game. The Team Canada game will either be in Kamloops, BC on Dec. against Russia or in Kelowna, BC on Dec. against the Czech Republic. Single game ticket prices will also be available and range between $3-$5 for round robin games and $4-$8 for semi final and medal round games. Single game group packages are also available for all games.

“BC Hockey is very pleased to once again have Salmon Arm involved with the hosting of the 2005 National Women’s Under 18 Hockey Championship.  We anticipate that this year’s event will be second to none and of the same high quality as other events they have hosted.” said Fred Heslop, President of the BC Amateur Hockey Association (BCAHA).

Beyond the 2005 National Women’s Under-18 Hockey Championship, Salmon Arm has previously hosted several provincial sporting events, including the 2005 Pacific Midget Regional Championship, the 2003 Provincial Men’s Curling Championship, the 2003 BCAHA Midget AAA Provincials and the 2000 BCAHA Bantam AA Provincials. 

“We are very excited that Hockey Canada has the confidence in our community to host this event for a second consecutive year. There is no doubt that the passion in our community will once again exceed all of our expectations,” said Committee Chair Tony Burge.

The National Under-18 Women's Hockey Championship is an event that brings together the top under 18 aged women’s players from across Canada. Teams participating include a combination of regional and provincial teams: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, two teams from Ontario, Québec and the Atlantic (New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland). 

Alumnus of Canada’s National Under-18 Women’s Program include current National Women Team members, Kelly Béchard (1993, Team Saskatchewan), Becky Kellar (1993, Team Ontario), Cheryl Pounder (1993, Team Ontario), Hayley Wickenheiser (1993, Team Alberta), Caroline Ouellette (1997, Team Qebec), Cherie Piper (1997, Team Ontario) and Sarah Vaillancourt (2001, Team Quebec). 

The National Under-18 Women's Hockey Championship is part of Hockey Canada’s Women’s High Performance Program, to complement provincial women’s hockey efforts and prepare players for future international and high level training and competitions.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – MON 0 (Preliminary)
Fancy posted a 24-save shutout to backstop the Hurricanes to the win.