Semi-finals Set For 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup; Awards & Scholarship Handed Out
May 13, 2005

WEYBURN, SK – Four teams are set to go head to head in the semi-finals with the winners earning a berth in the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup Championship game, which will be played at the Weyburn Colosseum at 5:30pm (MT) on Sunday, May 15 and will be broadcast live across the country on The Sports Network, TSN and its french equivalent, RDS

In Saturday’s first semi-final, the first place Weyburn Red Wings (Host) will face the Hawkesbury Hawks (East Region) at 2:00pm (MT) at the Weyburn Colosseum. Weyburn finished the round robin portion of the tournament with a 3-1 record, while Hawkesbury wrapped up the round robin with a 1-3 record. The two clubs faced each other on the Wednesday of round robin play, with Weyburn squeezing out a 4-3 overtime victory.

The Georgetown Raiders (Central Region) will face off against the Camrose Kodiaks (Pacific Region) in Saturday’s second semi-final at 7:30pm (MT). Camrose finished the round robin with a 3-1 record, while Georgetown finished with an even 2-2 record. The two teams met each other during the round robin on Thursday, with Camrose skating away with a 2-1 victory.

Earlier in the evening, at the 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards ceremony, a special presentation was made by Canadian Junior "A" Hockey League President, Marty Knack, to Michael Olson of the Nanaimo Clippers (BC Hockey League). Michael was the recipient of the RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award.

Michael, 20, has just completed a very successful third season in the BCHL as the captain of the Nanaimo Clippers, who were participants in the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, AB.

Michael scored 32 goals and added 38 assists in 2004-05.
The 6'0, 185lb forward will be attending St.Cloud University in 2005-06 on an athletic scholarship.
Michael Olson's Highlights for 2004-05
GP – 60    G – 32    A – 38    PTS – 70    PIM – 62    PPG – 14    SHG – 3
First on Nanaimo in power play (14) and short handed (3) goals
Second on Nanaimo in games played (60), goals (32), and points (70)
2005 - BCHL Power Poll MVP | BCHL First Team All-Star | Columbia Fuels 3 Star Island Division Winner

The RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Player-of-the-Year Award goes to the Canadian Junior "A" hockey player who has best combined hockey skills and achievement with community involvement during the 2004-05 season.

In addition to the Player-of-the-Year Award, six individual 2005 RBC Royal Bank Cup awards and a national scholarship were handed out at the awards ceremony.
Winners were as follows:
Most Valuable Player –  Travis Friedley (Camrose Kodiaks)
Top Scorer – Mathieu Picard (Hawkesbury Hawks)
Top Forward – Mayson Raymond (Camrose Kodiaks)
Top Defencemen – Travis Friedley (Camrose Kodiaks)
Top Goaltender – Brenden Cuthbert (Weyburn Red Wings)
Most Sportsmanlike Player – Brendon Vertefeuille (Weyburn Red Wings)
RBC Financial Group Canadian Junior "A" Scholarship National Winner – Sam Colizza (Kingston Voyageurs)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: STA 6 – BRA 2 (Preliminary)
Doyle had 2G 1A, and the Slash came back to clinch second place.
2018 U18WC: CZE 2 – CAN 1 (Quarter-final)
Dellandrea scored late, but Canada fell one short against the Czechs.
2018 TELUS Cup: NDH 2 – LET 1 (Preliminary)
Mylymok scored both goals, and the Hounds made it four wins in a row.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 5 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
Shirley and Parker had 1G 1A each, and the Stars finished perfect.