RBC Insurance, Hockey Canada & The Hockey Hall of Fame Announce 2005 RBC Local Hockey Leaders
March 1, 2005

Winners to be recognized in the Hockey Hall of Fame and receive $10,000 towards hockey in their community

TORONTO, - RBC Insurance, Hockey Canada and Hockey Hall of Fame are recognizing outstanding community leaders from across the country who dedicate their time to supporting grassroots hockey as part of the second annual RBC Local Hockey Leaders program.

The winners (one from each of Hockey Canada’s 13 branches) were chosen from more than 3,000 nominations received in a cross-country search that started in September 2004. RBC Insurance will donate $10,000 to local minor hockey in each regional winner’s name, plus each will be recognized in the Hockey Hall of Fame and receive a signed Team Canada jersey.

“RBC Insurance is proud to recognize these individuals and to reward their efforts through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program,” said Neil Skelding, president and CEO, RBC Insurance. “Hockey is an important part of Canadian culture and without volunteers like these, hockey in many communities simply would not happen.”

RBC initiated the RBC Local Hockey Leaders Program in 2003-2004 to recognize behind-the-scenes individuals who dedicate their time to hockey at the community level. To date, the program has donated more than $200,000 to grassroots hockey initiatives across Canada.

A panel of hockey experts including Hockey Hall of Fame Director of Public Affairs Ron Ellis, Chair of the board for Hockey Canada Allan Matthews, and Team Canada players Ryan Smyth and Kelly Bechard selected the winners based on guidelines that include dedication, leadership, commitment and impact on hockey and hockey players in their community.

“RBC is investing in Canadian communities through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program, and we are proud to be a part of this effort,” added Bob Nicholson, president, Hockey Canada. “In a year that has had its share of negative hockey stories, the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program aims to highlight the true behind-the-scenes individuals who put their time and effort into making hockey fun and accessible for Canadian kids.”

2005 Regional RBC Local Hockey Leaders:


RBC Local Hockey Leader

Nominated By

Hockey North

Mike McMillan & Ian Gordon, Repulse Bay, Nunavut

Leonie Aissaoui, Repulse Bay, NU

British Columbia

Barbara Anderson, Sparwood, B.C.

Jenny Tress, Sparwood, BC


Nicky Sereda, Drumheller, AB

Chris Brereton, Munson, AB


Jack Shymko, Ituna, SK

Veronica Wenc, Ituna, SK


Greg McClelland, Winnipeg, MB

Greg Arason, Winnipeg, MB


Marshall Drewnowsky, Vaughan, ON

Stephen B. Pottins, Vaughan, ON

Northwestern Ontario

Darrell Clarke, Thunder Bay, ON

Linda Hutton, Thunder Bay, ON

Ottawa District

Steve Bird, Deep River, ON

Dave Thompson, Ottawa, ON


Denis Veilleux, Albert Verner & Gilles Choquette, Laval, QC

Hafsa Chaar, Verdun, QC

New Brunswick

Robert McLure, Riverview, NB

Susan Clarke, Coverdale, NB

Nova Scotia

Ethel Tobin, Antigonish, NS

Shane MacIsaac, Antigonish, NS

Prince Edward Island

Gerald Keough, Tignish, PEI

Kelly Ashley, Tignish, PEI

Newfoundland & Labrador

Nicholas Aylward, Witless Bay, NL

Kay Aylward, Witless Bay, NL

For more information and biographies on all the RBC Local Hockey Leaders, please visit http://www.rbc.com

About RBC Insurance

RBC Insurance provides a wide range of creditor, life, health, travel, home, auto and reinsurance products and services to more than five million clients in Canada, the U.S. and internationally.  These products and services are offered through a wide variety of distribution channels, including the telephone, independent brokers, travel agents, a proprietary sales force and the Internet.  For more information, please visit the RBC Insurance web site atwww.rbcinsurance.com.

For further information, please contact:

Brian Findlay or Bob Stellick, 416-603-9452

Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada Communications, 403-777-4556

Jackie Braden, Media Relations, RBC Financial Group, 416-974-2124

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.